Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boiling Springs Convention

Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Oak Grove Community,
Sylacauga, Alabama

Saturday, May 7, 2005

The annual Boiling Springs Convention was held at Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church in the Oak Grove Community, near Sylacauga, Alabama on Saturday before the second Sunday in May. The day of singing began with prayer led by Elder Frank Wood.

The following officers were elected and appointed to serve:

Chairman—Elder Bufrey Dean; Secretary—Cynthia Dean; Arranging Committee—Carla Pressley.

Leaders: Elder Bufrey Dean 31t; Jeff Sheppard 61, 79; Ed Thacker 47t, 303; Floy Wilder 63, 182; Eugene Forbes 100, 40; Elder Frank Wood 452; Robert Walker 30b; Nell Estes; Gavin Blakeley; Virginia Futral 145b; Wendy Futral 491; Elgie Wood; Bobby Watkins 32t, 33b; William Futral 341; Edna Phillips 143; Chita Blakeley.


Elder Bufrey Dean brought the class back together by leading 313t. Leaders: Waylon Blakeley; Maudie Frederick; Brenda Dean 47b, 369; LaRue Allen 300, 222; Ed Thacker 57, 400; Sylvia Wesson 147t, 339; Stormy Britton 188, 490; Willard Frederick 45t, 77t; Myra Goss 145t, 170; Lou Cotney 172, 218; Henry Johnson 338, 81t; Jo Snodgrass; Richard Mauldin 358, 66.

Elder Bufrey Dean opened the business session. Eugene Forbes asked permission for the Boiling Springs Convention be held at Mount Zion Primitive Baptist Church, near Ashland, Alabama on Saturday, August 13, 2005. Motion received a second and passed unanimously to grant this request. Elder Bufrey Dean led 45t, followed with prayer by Brother Allen Bingham.


Elder Bufrey Dean brought the afternoon session to order by leading 47b and 282. Leaders: Elder Jonathan Blakeley 81t, 213 (t? b?); Waylon Blakeley; Lacey Blakeley 291, 108b; Floy Wilder 186, 373; Virginia Futral 566 (in memory of Sisters Nelda Henry and Betty Forbes), 495 (Old School Hymnal); William Futral 46, 98; Wendy Futral 496, 25; Lou Cotney 384, 358; Nellie Estes 40, 438; Elder Bufrey Dean 28b (by special request in honor of Sister Lera Beckett).

Announcements were made. Elder Jonathan Blakeley led the closing prayer. Those who desired lovingly took the parting hand.

Note: Minutes were lost. Song numbers not appearing after a person’s name could not be remembered and therefore left blank.

Chairman—Elder Bufrey Dean; Secretary—Cynthia Dean.