Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oxford City Hall

Oxford, Mississippi

Sunday, March 13, 2005

The twenty-fifth annual Sacred Harp singing at Oxford City Hall was called to order by Warren Steel leading 48t. John Merritt offered the morning prayer. Warren Steel led 171 and Mark Tew led 335.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Tew; Secretary—John Merritt; Arrangements—Lisa Geist and Brenda Merritt; Hospitality—Linda Boulton and Millicent Nicholas.

Leaders: John Merritt 268; Lisa Geist 192; Regina Marshall 270; Natalie Davis 45t; Ester Mann 426t; Lee Wise 354b; Bridgett Hill 99; Max Berueffy 548; Lena Keeton 475; Andy Davis 198; Wanda Capps 299; Sandie Scott 480; Elizabeth Keeton 81t; John Hyde 124; Darlene Reynolds 145t; Mark Davis 220; Hugh Bill McGuire 236; Sarah Smith 318; Karen Ivey 135.


Mark Tew called the class together leading 117. Leaders: Susie Bishop 61; Henry McGuire 490; Eric Schedler 189; Chuck Howell 40; Glenn Keeton 163b; Willodean Barton 454; Marilyn Burchett 274t; Seth Holloway 388; John Van Horn 47b; Dena Holley and Stanley Wise 128, 129; Gary Smith 569b; Ozella Blackmon 436; Leon Ballinger 327; Phil Kliewer 159; Harrison Creel 498; Velton Chafin 225t; Marlon Beasley 460; Drew McGuire 393.


The afternoon session began with Warren Steel leading 179. Leaders: Amber Davis 142; Sarah Tidwell 146; David Ivey 431; Katie Zukof 474; Gravis Ballinger 495; Josie Hyde 234; Travis Keeton 341; Dorothea McCowan 442; Chuck Beasley 33b.

A memorial lesson was held for singers and loved ones who departed this life in the past year. Max Berueffy led 144 in memory of John Hocutt; Warren Steel led 65 for the sick and shut-ins. The memorial lesson was closed.

Leaders: Brenda Merritt 434; Larry Ballinger 215; Nelson Fitts 410t; Will Fraser 273; Leon Ballinger 269; Karen Ivey and David Ivey 76b, 564; Marilyn Burchett 108b; Hugh Bill McGuire, Alice McGuire, Henry McGuire, Drew McGuire, and Sarah Tidwell 42; Sandie Scott 282; Glenn Keeton, Elizabeth Keeton, and Lena Keeton 143; Eric Schedler and Katie Zukof 455.

Following announcements, the officers led 345b as the closing song, and John Van Horn dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Tew; Secretary—John Merritt.