Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Baylor Sacred Harp Singing

George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Waco, Texas

Saturday, February 12, 2005

The fourth annual Baylor University Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Great Hall of the George W. Truett Theological Seminary on the Baylor University campus in Waco, Texas, on Saturday before the second Sunday in February. Justice Donald Ross taught a singing school from 9:15 a.m. to 9:45 a.m.

Dr. David Music called the class together leading 59. Charles Rich offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary/Arranging Committee—Sarah Huckaby.

Leaders: Sarah Huckaby 171; Al Rogers 198; Zach Rogan 189; Ben Griffin 159; Beverly Coates 229; Jerry Ryan 343; Gaylon Powell 81b; Doris Hanks 63; Gary Rogan 384; Stephan Farrar 148; Liz Owen 142; Leon Ballinger 490; Catherine Rogan 218; Reed Coates 137; Cissy Moseley 276; Dick Steil 312b; Jeb Owen 338; Vivian Rogan 178; Donald Ross 399b; Billy Huckaby 421; Katie Moseley 565.


The singing continued with Dr. David Music leading 479. Leaders: Tom Owen 57; Terre Schill 212; Mike Moseley 532; Stephanie Turney 86; Connor Scholes 72b; Evelyn Lamb 208; Scott Curran 455; Susan Anderson 284; Randall Bradley 186; Kari Langford 312t; John Morris 119; Rick Emerson 45t; Audra Culberson and Dr. David Music 49t; Dr. Tim McKinney 73b. Randall Bradley asked the blessing on the noon meal.


The afternoon session opened with Dr. David Music leading 99. Leaders: Sarah Huckaby 330t; Al Rogers 373; Zach Rogan 217; Kari Langford 81t; Beverly Coates 201; Jerry Ryan 145t; Gaylon Powell 300; Randall Bradley 128; Doris Hanks 448b; Gary Rogan 203; Liz Owen 299; Leon Ballinger 546; Evelyn Lamb 187; Catherine Rogan 84; Reed Coates 56b; Cissy Moseley 34b; Dick Steil 145b; Ben Griffin 282; Jeb Owen 480; Vivian Rogan 535; Donald Ross 497; Billy Huckaby 47b; Katie Moseley 448t; Tom Owen 454; Terre Schill 396; Mike Moseley 326; Stephanie Turney 547; Scott Curran 39t; John Morris 39b; Gaylon Powell 53; Vivian Rogan 163b; Mike Moseley 434; Beverly Coates 347; Sarah Huckaby 196; Jeb Owen 503; Stephanie Turney 47t; Tom Owen 442; Terre Schill 436; Catherine Rogan 36b.

Announcements were made. The Baylor University Sacred Harp Singing will meet next year on Saturday before the second Sunday in February, February 11, 2006.

Dr. David Music led the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dr. David W. Music; Secretary—Sarah Huckaby.