Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hillabee Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Daviston, Alabama

Sunday, July 18, 2004

The one hundred thirty-second session of the Hillabee Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church in Daviston, Alabama on the third Sunday in July. Chairman Eugene Forbes brought the class to order leading 39b. Bufrey Dean offered the morning prayer.

The Introductory Lesson was led by Edna Ruth Phillips using songs on pages 335 and 334.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Jenny Acton; Arranging Committee—Charlotte Bishop.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 100, 438; Nell Estes 40, 36b, 313t; Floy Wilder 123t, 47t; Myrline Redmon 452, 569b; Mary Payne 496, 490; Jenny Acton 25 (JB), 143.


Chairman Eugene Forbes brought the class to order leading 32t. Leaders: Charlotte Bishop 119, 294; Audress Gurley 274t, 517 (WB); Margaret Ray 112, 418; Edna Ruth Phillips 566, 75; Nell Estes 560.


The class was reassembled for the afternoon session. A business session was held with the class voting and approving the following:

  • The Introductory Lesson is to be led by Mary Jean Payne in 2005.
  • The singing is to be held at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church until further notice.

The business session was closed.

The memorial lesson was conducted. Jenny Acton led 340 in memory of her dad, Walter C. (Dee) Gurley, and Paul Mastranunzio. Jack Nelson led 490 in memory of Thomas Futral. The memorial lesson was closed.

Leaders: Virginia Futral 145b, 480; Myra Goss 282, 434; Jack Nelson 30b, 117; William Futral 341, 98; Lacy Blakeley 108b, 77t; Chita Blakely 176t, 216; Susan Bishop 47b, 491; Annie Sue Bishop 148, 127; Nell Estes 186; Floy Wilder 373; Mary Jean Payne 99 (in memory of her mother, Elma Avery); Myrline Redmon 147t; Jack Nelson 489, 122 (by request); Jonathon Blakeley 213 (t? b?); Myra Goss 384; Charlotte Bishop “A Light At The River”.

Announcements were made. Chairman Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. Elder Jonathon Blakely offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Jenny Acton.