Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lamar and Pickens County Convention

Zion Church, Eight Miles North of Gordo, Alabama

Sunday, July 11, 2004

The eighty-seventh session of the Lamar and Pickens County Convention was held at Zion Church, north of Gordo, Alabama on the second Sunday in July. Clarence McCool called the class to order leading 101t. Glenn Keeton offered the morning prayer. Clarence McCool led 159.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairlady—Amber Davis; Arranging Committee—Wayne Baines; Secretary—Josie Hyde.

Leaders: Clarence McCool 36b; Glenn Keeton 47b, 163t; Josie Hyde 198, 151; Travis Keeton 111t, 112; Jarrod George 300, 358; Tim Cook 515, 101b; Gary Smith 503, 565; Sarah Smith 111b, 73t; Elene Stovall 517, 316; Chris Ballinger 282, 270.


The class resumed singing with Amber Davis leading 215 and 142. Leaders: Tommy George 155, 388; Turner Berueffy 354b, 79; Brooks Berueffy 145t, 424; Coleman Berueffy 84, 63.

Elene Stovall conducted the memorial lesson. The deceased remembered were: A.A. Malone, Lavaughn Ballinger, Dessie Goodman, Bruce Randolph, Clearcy Rutledge, and Donald Smith.

The sick and shut-ins remembered were: Emma Pugh, Etma Barton, Gladys Bonds, Cecile Cox, and the daughter of Diane Mennella. Leaders and their selections for the memorial were: Elene Stovall 183; Clarence McCool 490; Larry Ballinger 405; Josie Hyde 82t; and Toney Smith 45t. Hugh Bill McGuire closed the memorial with prayer.

Max Berueffy led 392, 492; Bill Steward led 569b.


The afternoon session was called to order by Clarence McCool leading 323b. Leaders: Clarissa Springfield 435, 343; Elizabeth Keeton 274t; Wilton Donaldson and Ivalene Donaldson 30t; Wilton Donaldson 32t; Paula Springfield 546 (in memory of Lois Livingston), 380; Paula Springfield, Amber Davis, Clarissa Springfield, and Elene Stovall 49b; John Hyde 124, 297; Ruth Wyers 176b, 206; Lena Keeton and Glenn Keeton 120, 475; Gravis Ballinger 34b, 220; Hugh Bill McGuire 172; Margaret Keeton 273; John Van Horn 378 (t? b?), 196; Jack Pate 341, 535; John Beasley 348b, 285t; Dennis George 564, 542; Beth O’dell 560, 186; Toney Smith 225t; Lisa Geist 391; Larry Ballinger 224, 50b; Wayne Baines 339, 340; Clarence McCool 349, 45t (by request); Travis Keeton 294 (by request).

Clarence McCool and Amber Davis led 62 as the closing song. Dennis George offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairlady—Amber Davis; Secretary—Josie Hyde.