Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Sunday, May 23, 2004

The May Decoration Day Sacred Harp Singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in May was called to order by Chairman Milford Cobbs leading 127. The morning prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper. After welcoming everyone, Milford Cobbs led 46.

Leaders and selections: Judy Caudle 48t, 63; J.L. Hopper 122, 361; Arvid Holmes 460; Robert Walker 34b, 480; John Hyde 566, 297; Corene White 314, 171; Steve Cobbs 285t, 490; Marilyn Burchett 108b, 49t; Jonathon Thompson 49b, 384; Blake Sisemore 68b, 354b; Sarah Smith 141, 317.


The singing resumed with Chairman Milford Cobbs leading 75. Leaders and selections: Brandon Thompson 274t, 335; Clayton Ezell 119, 182; David Roberson 146, 340; Sandie Scott 40, 110; David Light 192, 200; Nancy Thompson 101t, 67; Wilton Donaldson 499, 503; Bridgett Hill 134, 383; Travis Peek 59, 282; Marie Guthrie 434, 222; Gordon Wilkinson 436, 475.


After enjoying lunch and fellowship, the class was called to order by Milford Cobbs leading 445 in memory of Dexter Cobbs and Clara Cobbs, brother and sister, who passed away in the last year. The memorial lesson continued with Jonathon Thompson and Brandon Thompson leading 448t in memory of: L.E. Hopper, Izella Hopper, Willard Hopper, Marvin Hopper, Pauline Cobbs, and Alta Mae Self. Judy Caudle led 459 in memory of Bera Bradford, a much loved and missed singer from Gum Pond; J.C. Hardin and Darell Beasley, both who passed away in recent months.

Judy Caudle led 405 for the people who are sick or shut-ins: Carol Fannin, Patsy Hopper Walden, Herbert Cobbs, Kimmie Holcomb, and Bud Oliver. The memorial was closed.

Marlin Beasley, representing the Joe Beasley Memorial Foundation, presented a plaque of appreciation to Elder J.L. Hopper for his work on the teaching video available through the Joe Beasley Memorial Foundation.

Leaders and selections: Marlin Beasley 358, 343; Rodney Ivey 270 (for Bud Oliver); Amber Davis 73b, 172; Loyd Ivey 89, 225t; Betty Shepherd 299, 159; Travis Keeton 73t, 179; Jennifer Allred 430, 345b; Dennis George 319, 318; Elene Stovall 217, 186; David Carlton 332, 272; Larry Ballinger 57; Glenda Hopper 481, 461; Gary Smith 565, 569b; Daniel Hopper 273, 188; Seth Holloway and Ron Jaeger 79, 388; Ron Jaeger 457 (for Stacy).

Following announcements, Milford Cobbs led 62 as the closing hymn. Prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Milford Cobbs; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretary—Judy Caudle.