Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jack Kerr and Henry Kerr Memorial

Camp Ground Methodist Church, North of Fruithurst,
Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, January 11, 2004

The annual memorial singing for Jack Kerr and Henry Kerr was held on the second Sunday in January at Camp Ground Methodist Church. Chairman Henry Johnson brought the class to order leading 59. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Mary L. Smith 60, 100; Stanley Edwards 445, 36b; Audress Gurley 108t, 147t; Earlis McGraw 435, 544; Jimmie Denney 101t, 143.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary L. Smith; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards.

Leaders: Richard Mauldin 82t, 84; Teenie Moody 222, 384; Sara Smith 290; Hugh McGraw 549; Felton Denney 385b, 31t.


B.M. Smith brought the class to order leading 85. Leaders: Winfred Kerr 89, 45t; Margie Smith 499, 335; Tony Hammock 30t, 76b; Lela Crowder 272, 274t; John Plunkett 274b, 500; Eunice Webb 475, 208; Milton Oliver 155, 314; Tabitha Murphy 41, 334.

Members of the Kerr family who were present led 282 in memory of all their relatives who have passed away. Lois Bowman, daughter of Jack Kerr, welcomed those in attendance for this occasion, and extended an invitation to come again next year. The memorial was closed with the Kerr family leading 455.


The afternoon session was brought to order by B.M. Smith leading 284. Leaders: Gary Smith 503, 565; LaRue Allen 299, 106; Jeff Sheppard “Denson” (a song written by M.F. McWhorter in 1906); Lonnie Rogers 33b, 348b; Daphene Causey 336, 216; Eugene Forbes 328, 438; Virginia Dyer 192, 200; Bud Oliver 145t, 170; Charlene Wallace 276, 327; Floy Wilder 186, 432; Rodney Ivey and Dylan Denney 178, 30b; Fallon Dyer 32t, 63; B.J. Harris 225t, 303; Carlene Griffin 548; Shelbie Sheppard 556; Jeff Sheppard 195; Lois Owen 460, 212; Michael Turner 358, 294; Mark Fuller 72b; Cecil Roberts 73b, 569b; Evelyn Harris and Rodney Ivey 47t.

Announcements were made. Henry Johnson and B.M. Smith led 166 as the closing song. Billy Joe Harris offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith.