Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shiloh-Little Vine Singing

Shiloh Primitive Baptist Church,
Near Tallapoosa, Georgia (Off Hwy. 100)

September 7, 2003

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing was held at Shiloh Primitive Baptist Church, near Tallapoosa (just off Hwy. 100), Georgia on the first Sunday in September. Charles Woods called the class to order leading 73b. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Charles Woods 275t; Bobby Jackson 569b, 317; Charlene Wallace 105, 171; Felton Denney 277, 155.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Charles Woods; Vice Chairman—Bobby Jackson; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Memorial Committee—Judy Henry and Josephine Denney; Chaplain—Felton Denney; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace.

Leaders: Earlis McGraw 225t, 544; Eunice Webb 136, 112; Stanley Edwards 290, 282; Miranel Swafford 32t, 313t; Jimmie Denney 72b, 276; Mildred Patterson 146, 108b; Katherine Benefield 108t.


Bobby Jackson brought the class to order leading 285t. Leaders: Mildred Johnson 87; Jeff Sheppard 319, 564; Josephine Denney 75, 100; B.M. Smith 373, 284; Inez Chandler 114, 274 (t? b?); Johnny Wright 159, 300; Lisa Webb 566, 542; Hugh McGraw 287, 310; Shelbie Sheppard 332, 138t; Cecil Roberts 49b, 303; Carlene Griffin 117, 503.


The afternoon session began with Charles Woods leading 145b. Leaders: Virginia Dyer 217, 192, 193; Richard Mauldin 36b, 37b.

Judy Henry conducted the memorial lesson. Jeff Sheppard led 335 and 111b in memory of the following deceased: Harvey Austin, Beulah Reese, and Ruth Brown—Alabama; James Robinson, Vivian Rogers, Wilford Denney, Willard King, Irene Sanders, Everette Denney, and Revy Williamson—Georgia.

Lonnie Rogers led 45t and 343 for the sick and shut-ins: Lois Stanson, Estelle Flowers, Dick Mauldin, Lebron Hinton, Willie Carolyn Denson, Scott Moore, Jap Walton, Joyce Walton, John Hocutt, Mozelle Sheppard, I.V. McWhorter, and Alice Edwards.

The memorial was closed with prayer led by Josephine Denney.

Leaders: Homer Benefield 56t, 63; Karen Rollins 143, 34b; Hester Edwards and Charlene Wallace 104, 68b; Johnny Wright 294,145t; Eunice Webb 208, 392; Felton Denney 299, 385b; Stanley Edwards 340; Inez Chandler 490; Cecil Roberts 378t; Virginia Dyer 28b (for her nephew who is returning from Iraq today); Richard Mauldin 66; Hugh McGraw 369.

Announcements were made. Charles Woods led 420 as the closing song, Felton Denney offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Charles Woods; Vice Chairman—Bobby Jackson; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.