Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 19, 2003

The eighty-ninth session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Convention met on Saturday before the third Sunday in July at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, and was called to order by Velton Chafin leading 34b. Harrison Creel offered the morning prayer. Velton Chafin led 30t and 42.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Ida Lee Starnes; Arranging Committee—Brenda Merritt and Travis Keeton; Memorial Committee—Josie Hyde and Charles Kitchens.

Leaders: Wilton Donaldson 348b, 565; Winell Sanders 225t; Travis Keeton 335, 321; John Hyde 129, 73t; Flarce Creel 389, 402; Rachel Allred 159; Sarah Smith 145b, 318; Jennifer Allred 49b, 384; Ivalene Donaldson 77t; Glenn Keeton 45t, 475; Ryan Hale 36b, 56t.


John Merritt led 145t to reassemble the class to order. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 63, 59; John Beasley 68b; Laura Hale and Adam Hale 348b, 354b; Bill Farris 401, 345b; Carol Crumpton 65; Paula Springfield 380, 340; Harrison Creel 498, 530; Tommie Spurlock 446, 273; Gary Smith 503, 31t; Danny Creel 196, 182.


Velton Chafin brought the class back to order leading 144.

Josie Hyde and Charles Kitchens conducted the memorial lesson. Josie Hyde led 78 and 84 in memory of the following deceased: Donald Smith, Lavaughn Ballinger, Tressie Adkins, Lamar Smith, Ruth Brown, Lena Lawson Thornton Barker (aunt of Gary Smith), Edis Guthrie, and Flora Otwell—Alabama; David Moody—Washington; Dinah Breunig—Vermont; Thelma Short—Texas.

Charles Kitchens led 385b and 345b (a favorite of Furn Kitchens) for the sick and shut-ins: L.E. Hannah, Gladys Bonds, Willodean Barton, Dessie Goodman, A.A. Malone, Furn Kitchens, Arlene Kitchens, Elsie Beasley, Ruth Aaron, Elsie Moon, and Mary Myers. Charles Kitchens closed the memorial with prayer.


Velton Chafin brought the afternoon session to order leading 130. Leaders: Marlin Beasley 460, 480; Amber Springfield 532, 192; John Hocutt 144; Aubrey Barfield 163t, 193; Stanley Smith 432, 482; Cassie Franklin 418; John Etheridge 419; Wanda Capps 216; Susan Allred 489, 183; Clarence McCool 490, 349 (for his Aunt Dessie Goodman and A.A. Malone); Cindy Tanner 76b; Ozella Blackmon 218; Mary Gardner 196; Margaret Gowan 406; John Merritt 400; Charles Kitchens 108t, 326; Rachel Allred 276; Brenda Merritt 436, 426b.

Velton Chafin led 294 as the closing song. John Merritt offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Ida Lee Starnes.