Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Independence Day Singing

Muscadine Methodist Church, Muscadine, Alabama

Friday, July 4, 2003

The twentieth session of the Independence Day Singing was held at Muscadine Methodist Church in Muscadine, Alabama on Friday, July 4, 2003. Jeff Sheppard called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. leading 37b and 36b. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 28b; Shelbie Sheppard and Reba Windom 216; Jeff Sheppard 110; Mary Lambert Smith 171.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith.

Leaders: Martha Beverly 492; Don Bowen 388; Wilton Donaldson and Ivalene Donaldson 490; Louis Hughes, Jr. 112; Leyland delRe 297; Don Clark 41; Judy Hauff 172; Jeff Bell 354t; Betty Jones 361; Steve Shearon 213 (t? b?); Melanie Hauff 215; Thomas Willard 422; Allison Dodson 89; Alexander Makris 119; Jenny Willard 530; Bob Meeks 474; Nate Green and Norma Green 343; Tom Owen 426b; Sam Sommers 358; Bill Beverly 191; Karen Clark 276; Shirley Figura and Paul Figura 143.


B.M. Smith brought the class to order leading 222. Leaders: Philip Denney 344; B.J. Schnorenberg 87; Elsie Moon 234; Hannah Baker and Judith Green 300; Henry Schuman 217; Sandie Scott 235; Ted Johnson 430; Keith Willard 111b; Marcia Johnson 448t; Bill Shetter 157; Sandra Wilkinson 405; Sarah Smith 108t; Liz Bryant 542; Felton Denney 523; Karen Willard 497; Louis Hughes, Sr. 137; Richard DeLong 419; Martha Henderson 499; John Plunkett 346. Lonnie Rogers spoke about the observance and meaning of this day, July 4. He reminded us of what sacrifices had been and are still being made in order for us to have this freedom that we can meet together to sing and enjoy the fellowship of one another. Lonnie Rogers led 389 and asked that all the people who had attended the Sacred Harp Camp Fasola to stand and be recognized.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 278b; Judith Green 384; Tommy George 155; Bud Oliver 73t; Jerry Enright 101t; Dennis George 242; Lee Rogers 485; Rodney Ivey 189; Rachel Baker 270; Katie Moore and Lela Crowder 99; Lucy Leddington Wright and Annie Grieshop 146.


B.M. Smith called the class back to order for the afternoon session leading 142. Leaders: Charles Derleth 504; Daphene Causey 304; Barbara Uhlemann 475; Catherine Baker 472; Lynne deBenedette 411; Ben Harrison 332; Marilyn Burchett 128; Tom Ivey 84; Jenny Whitworth 334; Lance Ledbetter and April Gambill 318; Linda Briggs 479; Ken Hallock 29t; Gary Smith 569b; Mary Chris Harrison 370; Mary Lee Smith 294; Karen Freund 442; Bill Ellason 268; Charlene Wallace and Carlene Griffin 349; Laura Clawson 186.


Jeff Sheppard brought the class to order leading 192. Leaders: Milton Oliver 314; Terri Schill 56b; Laura Ackerman 224; John Uhlemann 212; Eunice Webb 283; Richard Schmeidler 254; Annie Grieshop 72b; Bobby Jackson 568; David Yeager 178; Harvey Austin 335; Michelle Cull 148; David Carlton 377; Rene Greene 76b; Carol Buche 503; Pam Nunn 454; Paul Figura 40.

Announcements were made. Jeff Sheppard and B.M. Smith led 46 as the closing song. Rev. Donald Payne, pastor of the church, offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith.