Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Cedar Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Near Cordele, Georgia

November 5, 1995

The seventy-sixth session of the South Georgia Singing Convention was called to order by Oscar McGuire, Chairman, leading songs on pages 37b, “Liverpool”, and 45t, “New Brittain”. The opening prayer was offered by Mr. John Hollingsworth. The following committees were appointed by Chairman Oscar McGuire: Arrangement Committee—Joyce Harrison, Bob Meeks, and Jon Robinson; Nominating Committee—Raymond Hamrick and Wesley Haley; Memorial Committee—Mary Brownlee and Myrtice Meeks. Leaders: Richard Johnson 63, 32t; Rita Haley 59, 72b; Bob Meeks 73b, 323 (t? b?); John Hollingsworth 341, 339; Otis Hester 145t, 460; Sharon Hamrick 276, 306b; Wesley Haley 122, 143; Sara Akin 145b, 300; Timothy Meeks 358, 236; Mary Brownlee 47b, 501.


Leaders: John Garst 235b, 326; Georgia Ann Corbin 340, 164; Steven Meeks 454, 298; Ruth Johnson 297, 441; David Grant 64, 448b; Polly Hester 569b, 480.

Chairman Oscar McGuire called for the business session. Wesley Haley represented the Nominating Committee and presented a slate of officers for the coming year. Those nominated were: President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—Richard Johnson; Secretary/Treasurer—Rita Haley; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Mildred Dumas; Chaplain—Robert Meeks. These officers were duly elected. The new officers’ terms begin at the close of this convention. Wesley Haley then called forward Mrs. Mildred Dumas and thanked her for many years of dedicated service to the South Georgia Singing Convention. Mrs. Mildred Dumas has served as Secretary/Treasurer for many years and her late husband, Harry Dumas, served in elected positions which helped Sacred Harp singings thrive in South Georgia. Mrs. Mildred Dumas has accepted the Assistant Secretary/Treasurer’s position for the upcoming year to help with the transition. Next in business, the singings for the coming year were reviewed and changes made. The convention next welcomed delegates from other singing associations. Mr. Bill Green was presented from Alabama. To end the business session, next year’s location for the convention was discussed. This session was held at Cedar Creek due to Lebanon Primitive Baptist Church having been almost totally destroyed by a recent tornado. It was agreed that we take up a special collection for Lebanon Church to help with the rebuilding project. Deacons representing Lebanon stated that their hopes were that we can return to our usual location for the 1996 convention. The business session was then closed and the class was dismissed for lunch.


Oscar McGuire opened the afternoon session leading song on page 137. Leaders: Bonnie Rewis 489, 155; Bill Green 423, 321b; Patty Collins 318, 490; Coy Ivey, Ivey Ellis, and Sumner Ellis 87, 153; Jon Robinson and Kay Robinson 452b, 288. A memorial service was held at this time. Mary Brownlee and Myrtice Meeks announced the following deceased: Donald Stripling, Ernie Brown, Harry Dumas, Carlton Hitchcock, and J. C. Stephens. Mary Brownlee led song on page 163b for those deceased. Mrs. Gertrude Bateman was the only shut-in mentioned. Myrtice Meeks led song on page 503b for her. This concluded the memorial service. Leaders: Luanne Turner 147t, 523b; Myrtice Meeks and Marjorie Robinson 206, 129, 157; Timothy Haley 282, 334; Doris Haley 515; Margie Dietz 46, 385b; Raymond Hamrick 148, 47t; Joyce Harrison 66, 178; Georgia Ann Corbin and Bob Corbin 373, 473; Joyce Harrison 323 (t? b?); Rita Haley 268; Mary Brownlee 569 (t? b?); Wesley Haley 128; Bill Green 425; John Garst 159. Oscar McGuire, newly elected President, closed the convention by thanking Cedar Creek for hosting this year’s session, and led song on page 323t. David Grant offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Vice Chairman—Richard Johnson; Secretary/Treasurer—Rita Haley; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Mildred Dumas; Chaplain—Robert Meeks.