Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Missouri State Convention

St. John’s United Church of Christ, Pinckney, Missouri

March 8-9, 2003

Saturday, March 8

The eighteenth annual Missouri State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. at St. John’s United Church of Christ by Chairmen Mark Bruns and Gary Gronau leading 38t and 480. Jim Hearne offered the opening prayer.

Officers for the convention were: Chairmen—Mark Bruns and Gary Gronau; Secretary—Dave Ressler; Arranging Committee—Rebecca Browne and Penny Kujawinski; Finance Committee—Gary Gronau; Memorial Committee—Dan Brittain, Norma Green, and Charles Derleth.

Leaders: Paul Figura 68b; Barbara Uhlemann 65; Jim Hearne 171; Pattie Doss 76b; Bill Ellason 59; Charlie Derleth 348 (t? b?); Penny Kujawinski 384; Dave Ressler 179; Wendy Hoffman 42; Lou Kujawinski 49b; Presley Barker 16 (MH); Linda Biggs 479; Jeanette Lowry 142; Karen Isbell and Paul Drummond 383; John Uhlemann 202; Jo Dell Albi 203; John Seaton 47t; Jim Page 38 (MH); Janet Fraembs 74b.


Mark Bruns called the class to order leading 66. Leaders: Rebecca Browne 36b; Bill Caldwell 178; Grace Scrimgeor 33b; Tim Reynolds 547; Melanie Hauff 52 (MH); Dan Brittain 302; Johanna Fabke 464; William Shetter 29 (MH); Mryka Hall-Beyer 269; Julie Vea 216; Reba Windom 186; Louis Hughes 282.


Bill Ellason led 40 to call the class together. Leaders: Susan Green 474; David Rust 23 (MH); Marcia Johnson 434; Joan Aldridge 228; Syd Caldwell and Denice Kober 89; Nate Green and Norma Green 560; Dean Slaton 536; Lois Graney and Jolene Phelps 145b, 87; Jo Dell Albi 180. Jim Hearne offered the blessing for the noon meal.


John Uhlemann called the afternoon session together with 362. Leaders: Dave Ressler and Don Sitton 452; Anne Heider 532; Ted Mercer 13 (MH); Berkeley Moore 141; Wendy King 436; Judy Hauff 172; Steve Warner 86; Jim Solheim “Omaha”; John Seaton 38b; Julie Vea 315; Nate Green and Norma Green 138 (t? b?); Wendy Hoffman 201; Janet Fraembs 556; Syd Caldwell 475; Grace Scrimgeor 31t; Jim Page 20 (MH); Susan Green 157.


Karen Isbell brought the class to order leading 313t and 481. Leaders: Melanie Hauff 392; David Rust 7 (MH); Marcia Johnson 485; Coy Ivey 456, 137; Dan Brittain 513; Lou Kujawinski 496; Mryka Hall-Bayer 361; Dean Slaton 512; Annie Grieshop 159; Louis Hughes 222; Johanna Fabke 85; Bill Caldwell 34 (MH); Reba Windom 192; Tim Reynolds 5 (MH); William Shetter 44 (MH); Charlie Derleth 148.

The class was dismissed with 347 and a prayer led by Jim Hearne.

Sunday, March 9

Mark Bruns opened the second day of the convention at 9:30 a.m. leading 99. Jim Hearne offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Gary Gronau 34b; Ann Leckie 419; Presley Barker 224; Pattie Doss 214; Charlie Derleth 66; Karen Isbell 270; John Uhlemann 212; Shirley Bruns 163b; Linda Biggs 515; Jim Hearne 503; Jo Dell Albi 16 (MH); Penny Kujawinski 328; Barbara Uhlemann 200; Jeanette Lowry 276; Bill Ellason 268; Anne Heider 236; Coy Ivey 384; Berkeley Moore 342; Alice Moran 40.


Paul Figura and Shirley Figura led 56t to call the class back together. Leaders: Lou Kujawinski 497; Anita Buswell and Syd Caldwell 143; Louis Hughes 112; Steve Warner 475; Mryka Hall-Beyer 454; Johanna Fabke 163t; Syd Caldwell 528; Jim Page 2 (MH); David Rust 52b; Joan Aldridge 120; Rex Armstrong 332; William Shetter 373.


Becky Browne called the class back to order leading 39t. Leaders: Reba Windom 299; Bill Caldwell 217; Jim Solheim 444; Nate Green and Norma Green 157.

Charlie Derleth opened the memorial lesson speaking of near-death experiences and how we don’t know the reasons for our individual survival.

Dan Brittain spoke of sacred places in all faiths and that our hollow square is such a place; those who have gone on are with us here, and then led 285 (t? b?) for the deceased. Those remembered were: John Henry Busby, Bobby Lacy, John Lacy, Flora Skinner, and Leola Smith—Alabama; Jim Dancer—Arkansas; Alan Shempe, Michael Strathdee, and David Wilkinson—California; Andrew Martinez—Florida; Cindy Cole, Kenneth DeLong, Everette Denney, Vivian Rogers, and Revy Williamson—Georgia; John Bailey, Art Heffley, and Stephanie Rubin—Illinois; Christopher Dugan and Naomi West—Missouri; Philip Page Jr.—New Jersey. Norma Green spoke for the sick and shut-ins and led 490 for them. Those remembered were: Allie Aldridge, Ruth Brown, Bill Green, Beufa Green, and Eldora Moody—Alabama; Beau Caldwell—Arkansas; Nancy Allen, Donnie McGraw, Gladys McGraw, I.V. McWhorter, Jerry Rollins, and Myrtle Smith—Georgia; Virginia Evans, Lisa Grayson, and Ted Johnson—Illinois; Laura Van Gorp, and Natalie Veneziano—Missouri; Dolores Katz—New York; Doris Littrell—Tennessee; Kelly Beard—Texas; Val Dunagan, Dick Dunagan, and Bob Scorgie—Wisconsin. Gary Gronau led 122, followed by Jim Hearne who offered prayer to close the memorial lesson and to ask the blessing on the food for the noon meal.


Barbara Uhlemann brought the afternoon session to order leading 377. Leaders: Anne Heider 189; Tim Reynolds 313b; Steve Warner 107; Coy Ivey 405; Berkley Moore 473; Lois Graney 310; Alice Moran 441; Dave Ressler 46 (MH); Dan Brittain 135; Julie Vea 195; Gary Gronau 411; Joan Aldridge 150; Jeanette Lowry 183; Janet Fraembs 335; Reba Windom 196; Pattie Doss 300; Wendy Hoffman 312b; Karen Isbell 11 (MH); Rex Armstrong 178; Jim Solheim 218. Announcements were made.


Leaders: Presley Barker 77t; Paul Figura 28t; John Uhlemann 455; Linda Biggs 77b; Jo Dell Albi 74b; Bill Ellason 63; Barbara Uhlemann 442; Charlie Derleth 56b.The closing song was 347, and the closing prayer was led by Jim Hearne.

Chairmen—Gary Gronau and Mark Bruns; Secretary—Dave Ressler.