Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cherry Tree Singing

James Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Itawamba County, Mississippi

August 25, 2002

The annual Sacred Harp singing at James Creek Primitive Baptist Church in Itawamba County, Mississippi was held on the fourth Sunday in August. Travis Keeton brought the class to order and led song on page 48t. Lavaughn Ballinger offered the morning prayer. Travis Keeton led song on page 44 in memory of Elmer Conwill who was buried here in July 2001.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Josie Hyde; Arranging Committee—Margaret Keeton.

Leaders: Travis Keeton 179; Lavaughn Ballinger 317, 84, 528; Betty Baccus 100 (for Mae Conwill who was unable to attend), 285t, 284 (in memory of Gene Wakefield); Beatrice Brewer 112, 460; Julie Poston 145b (in memory of Elmer Conwill), 166; A.A. Malone 68b, 110; Ivalene Donaldson 129; Gary Smith 523, 565, 31t; Vernice Phillips 318, 222; Julietta Haynes 40, 217, 430.

A business session was held for the purpose of changing the singing date to another time. The singers asked, and the James Creek Baptist Church agreed, that the date of this singing be moved to the fourth Sunday in July next year. Therefore, from henceforth, this Cherry Tree Singing will be held on the fourth Sunday of July each year. The date for next year will be July 27, 2003.


Larry Ballinger brought the class back to order leading songs on pages 56t, 28t, and 50b. Leaders: Clarence McCool 36b, 111b, 569b; Sarah Smith 159, 141; John Hyde 124, 313 (t? b?), 297; Linton Ballinger 457 (by request), 410t; Wayne Baines 155, 146, 319; Wilton Donaldson 348 (t? b?), 225t, 503; Faye Donaldson 299, 270.


Travis Keeton brought the class to order and led songs on pages 418 and 142. Leaders: Gravis Ballinger 300, 535, 49t; Chris Ballinger 49b, 163b, 56b; Jayne Fulmer 186, 203; Josie Hyde 234, 280, 477; Dale Kennedy 61, 294, 45t, 460; Lisa Geist 279, 350, 532; Earl Ballinger 530, 500; Warren Steel 340, 272, 286 (in memory of Elmer Conwill); David Jackson 47b, 480; Estes Jackson 426t, 302, 475; Margaret Keeton 456, 301.

Announcements were made. Travis Keeton led song on page 499 as the closing song. Estes Jackson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

The church invited everyone back again next year on the fourth Sunday in July.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Josie Hyde.