Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Gum Pond, Alabama

Saturday, July 27, 2002

The one hundred-fourteenth session of the Cotaco Convention was called to order by Chairman Jonathon Thompson leading song on page 45t. The morning prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper.

Leaders and selections were as follows: Brandon Thompson 274t, 335; Arvid Holmes 64, 460; Ken Tate 47t, 426b; Elvin Guthrie 138t, 138b; David Roberson 146, 275b; Tim Cook 330b, 29b; Travis Keeton 179, 480; Eldagene Roberson 175, 100; Marie Guthrie 411, 446; Lomax Ballinger 166, 144; Flarce Creel 203, 475.


The class was called to order by Jonathon Thompson leading song on page 68b. Leaders and selections: Nancy Thompson 65, 56b; Edith Tate 336, 389; Bud Oliver 345t, 145b; Margaret Keeton 78, 187; Linton Ballinger 142, 217; Harrison Creel 498, 512; Craig Holmes 80b, 111t; Charles McCravey 143, 176b; Sandie Scott 176t, 40; Larry Ballinger 56t, 101t; Zena Tucker 268, 29t; Buell Cobb 31t, 177; Lavaughn Ballinger 528, 546. Buckley Hopper led the class in prayer before lunch.


After enjoying a bountiful lunch and sweet fellowship, the class was reassembled by Jonathon Thompson leading song on page 313t.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Buckley Hopper; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Brandon Thompson.

Chairman Jonathon Thompson opened the floor and gave the opportunity for anyone desiring to host the next session of the convention, and to make that request known. None were received, so the 115th session of the convention will remain with Gum Pond Church for July 2003. The business session was closed.

Leaders and selections: Billy Williams 297, 496; Amanda Denson 276, 278b; Leah Commer 159, 42; Uel Freeman 317; Uel Freeman and Sharon Long 35; Carol Newman 220, 358; Delone Cobbs 75; Wilda Holmes 44, 384; Glenda Hopper 310, 343; Buckley Hopper 457, 489; Daniel Hopper 479, 269; J.L. Hopper 198, 304.

Jonathon Thompson led song on page 62 as the closing hymn, and the class was dismissed with prayer offered by Elder J. L. Hopper.

Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Buckley Hopper; Secretary—Judy Caudle.