Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Poplar Springs Baptist Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia, off Hwy. 100

May 26, 2002

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing at Poplar Springs Baptist Church was held on the fourth Sunday in May. The class was called to order by B.M. Smith leading song on page 59. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer. B.M. Smith led song on page 82 (t? b?); Jeff Sheppard led songs on pages 322 and 208.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Mary Florence Smith.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 123t; Miranel Swafford 32t; Charlene Wallace 276, 299; Mary Florence Smith 97, 148 (for Mozelle Sheppard); Aaron Little 512, 569b; Shelbie Sheppard 426t, 448b; Bobby Jackson 341, 274t; Floy Wilder 224, 373; Felton Denney 277, 489; LaRue Allen 171, 99; Dennis George 383, 385b.


B.M. Smith called the class back together with song on page 66. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 225t (for his mother, Gladys McGraw), 335; Evelyn Harris 30t, 87; Karleen Williams 298 (for her uncle, George Rogers), 222; Oscar McGuire 336, 441; Carlene Griffin 81 (t? b?), 117 (for Hester Edwards); B.J. Harris 303, 503.

Mary Florence Smith held the memorial lesson. Lonnie Rogers led songs on pages 45t and 343 in memory of: J.B. Parker, Curtis Rogers, Dr. James Howell, Rube Allred, Polly Moore, Wilford Denney, Linda Smart, and Juan Infante.

Mary Florence Smith led songs on pages 275b and 122 for the sick and shut-ins: Tom Mitchell, I.V. McWhorter, Mozelle Sheppard, Vivian Rogers, John Etheridge, Reba Norton, Alice Edwards, and Ike Stanford.

The pastor of the church, Elder Mike Benefield, welcomed everyone, asked the blessing on the food, and closed the memorial lesson.


B.M. Smith called the afternoon session to order leading song on page 35. Leaders: Guy Bankes 254, 269; Lela Crowder 282, 300; Hugh McGraw 371; Eunice Webb 392, 284; Cecil Sanders 146, 290; Josephine Denney 147t, 452; Phillip Langley 430, 220; Inez Chandler and Ceford Wood 490, 57; Joyce Clackum 111t, 111b; Elder Homer Benefield 56t; Guy Bankes 228; Dennis George 384, 358.

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith led song on page 46 as the closing song, and Lonnie Rogers dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.