Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt On The Mountain - A Living Museum,
Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 4, 2002

The eighteenth annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Madison Church building on the grounds of Burritt On The Mountain located atop Monte Sano Mountain in Huntsville. The singing was called to order at 9:30 a.m. with Chairman Lomax Ballinger leading song on page 32t. Lavaughn Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

The class organized by selecting the following additional officers: Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Secretary—Teresa Ballinger; Assistant Secretary—Amanda Ballinger; Arranging Committee—Linton Ballinger.

The class resumed singing with Chairman Lomax Ballinger leading song on page 166. Leaders: Vice Chairman David Ivey 192; Secretary Teresa Ballinger 300; Amanda Ballinger 212; Sam Jones 112; Hershell King 35; Bill Schrader 566; Ivalene Donaldson 335; Lavaughn Ballinger and Rodney Ivey 424; Betty Wright 569b; Mark Carroll 480; Sherry Stover 373; Danny Creel 182; Judy Caudle 568; Mike Thompson 217; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 47t, 37b; Don Bowen and Elene Stovall 99, 556; Lela Crowder 198.


The class resumed singing with Jimmy Ballinger and David Ballinger leading song on page 340. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 382; Vella Dailey 127; Dan Hopper 196, 117; Shelbie Sheppard 211; Henry Schuman 318; Sarah Harcrow Jenkins 460; Leon Ballinger 475; Edith Tate 532; Ted Johnson 224; Elizabeth Todd 319; Robert Harper 58; Jeannette DePoy 203; Gravis Ballinger 200.


Richard Ivey brought the class together leading song on page 436. Leaders: Pam Wilkerson 186; Charles Meidinger 352; Lisa Geist 377; Jackson Harcrow 274t; Frances Jones 236.

David Ivey conducted the memorial lesson, and led song on page 499 for the following deceased: Paul Frederick, John Bailey, Nelda Oliver Tolbert, Lucille Creel Tolbert, William Ryan, Freeman Wootten, Polly Moore, Janis Brackett, Everett Yoder, Jerilyn Schumacher, Lydia Phillips Baswell, and Wilma Robbins.

Judy Mincey led song on page 434 for the sick and shut-ins, which included: Flora Skinner, Beverly Norton, and Grace Jones Barnett. The memorial was closed.

The class resumed singing with the following leaders: Larry Ballinger 151; Melanie Hauff 564; Phil Summerlin 270; Flarce Creel 454; S.T. Reed 545; Lee Rogers 344; Wilton Donaldson 348b; Donna Wootten 278b; L.O. Harper 45t.


The afternoon session was called together with Phillip Ballinger leading song on page 155. Leaders: Henry Johnson 330t; Lynne deBenedette 542; Nick Dobbs 31b; Christy Tolbert Finley 36b; Ted Mercer 419; Lucy Heidorn 40; Sam Sommers 426b; Joe Todd 179; LaRue Allen 528; Louis Hughes 76b; Dennis George 240; Kris Richardson 107; Richard DeLong 336; Denise Felps 143; Ken Tate 354b; John Plunkett 41; Jeff Sheppard 362; Susan Harcrow 171; Bud Oliver 170; Scott DePoy 56b; Harrison Creel 512; Judy Hauff 296. J.L. Hopper 163t.


Stuart Ivey called the class together leading song on page 189. Leaders: Earl Ballinger 187; Loyd Ivey 208; David Light 110; Max Berueffy 216; Shane Wootten 384; Karen Ivey and Coy Ivey 222; Karen Ivey and Leon Ballinger 269; Laura Ackerman 543; Linton Ballinger 430.

Following announcements, Chairman Lomax Ballinger and Vice Chairman David Ivey led song on page 146, and the class was dismissed with prayer led by Sam Sommers.

Chairman—Lomax Ballinger; Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Secretary—Teresa Ballinger.