Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, April 13, 2002

The annual Sacred Harp singing at State Line Church, Cleburne County, Alabama (just off U.S. Highway 78 at the Alabama/Georgia state line) was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. Jeff Sheppard called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. (CT) leading song on page 32t. Billy Joe Harris offered the morning prayer. Rodney Ivey led song on page 57; Mary Florence Smith 313t; Helen Bryson 111b, and Jeff Sheppard 75.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Memorial Committee—Helen Bryson; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 475; David Lee 49b; Floy Wilder 293; Andy Anderson 36b; Kathy Lee 146; Dennis George 208; Teenie Moody 384; Jerry Enright 383; Reba Dell Windom 283; Don Bowen 569b; Ivalene Donaldson 95; Milton Oliver 314; Elene Stovall 182; Jeff Gauthier 402; Karen Willard 306; Henry Schuman 280.


Rodney Ivey called the class back to order leading song on page 312b. Leaders: Max Berueffy 411; Jenny Willard 318; Felton Denney 385b; Jeannette DePoy 34t; Keith Willard 112; Stan Jenson and Jenny Jenson 171; Terry Wootten 385t; Pam Nunn 528; David Yeager 32b; Judy Caudle 193; Harvey Austin 335; Shelbie Sheppard 183; Henry Johnson 29b; Charlene Wallace 439.


The class resumed singing with B.M. Smith leading song on page 273. Leaders: Richard DeLong 336; Karen Freund 421; John Plunkett 539b; Thomas Willard 145b; Laura Clawson 131b.

Helen Bryson conducted the memorial lesson. She read a poem on friendship and made comments about how to spot a friend, keep our friends, and how friendships are found and bonded in many ways. She commented about the friendships we have with our fellow Sacred Harp singers and what that friendship means to each of us.

John Plunkett led song on page 330b for the following deceased: Polly Maulder, Edwin Karn, Lawrence Underwood, Lula Underwood, Oakie Austin, J.J. Aderhold, Eula Johnson, Wilford Denney, Freeman Wootten, Jerilyn Schumacher, and Obie Laminack.

Floy Wilder led song on page 179 for all the sick and shut-ins. Louis Hughes closed the memorial with prayer.


The afternoon session was brought to order by B.M. Smith leading song on page 274 (t? b?). Leaders: Eunice Webb 196; Wilton Donaldson 348b; Rene Greene 217; Johnny Lee and Delorese Lee 503; Josephine Denney 143; Bobby Jackson 408; Evelyn Harris 155; Bud Oliver and Sammy Oliver (Bud and Sammy Oliver celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary on April 12th) 73t; LaRue Allen 192; Charles Franklin 480; Nancy Yeager 178; B.J. Harris 452; Eugene Forbes 168; Andy Morse 448t; Margie Smith 501; Rodney Ivey 426b (for Flora Skinner who was in the hospital); B.M. Smith 269 (in memory of Walker and Lessie Cates); Keith Willard and Jenny Willard 99; Reba Dell Windom 216; David Lee and Kathy Lee 229; Karen Willard and Ken Hallock 454; Henry Schuman 424; Jeff Gauthier 304; Charles Franklin 176t; Jenny Jenson 448b; Max Berueffy, Henry Johnson, and Dennis George 132.

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith and Rodney Ivey led song on page 46 as the closing song. Felton Denney offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.