Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lincoln’s Birthday Singing

University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

February 3, 2002

The tenth annual Lincoln’s Birthday Singing was held in Ida Noyes Hall, University of Chicago, from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. on the first Sunday in February. In the absence of last year’s Chair, Cathryn Baker, Natalia Cecire brought the class to order leading song on page 312b. Jim Swanson led the opening prayer. Natalia Cecire welcomed the many visitors attending the University of Chicago Folk Festival.

Leaders: Jim Helke 162; Rachel Adelstein 128; Al Frank 146; Nicholas Pasqual 565; Susan Geil 276; Jeff Gauthier 448b; David Barford 196; Sue Kessel 217; Doug Stapleton 163b; Shaffiq Welji 547; Steve Warner 148; Marcia Johnson 216 (in remembrance of ailing friends); John Greven 269; Judy Holst 114; Robert Dwarkin 87; Melanie Hauff 215; Randy Neufeld 99; Anne Heider 192; Ted Johnson 142.


Ariel Weinberg called the class together leading song on page 117. Leaders: Suzanne Flandreau 384 (for Cathryn Baker); Jim Swanson 300; Megan Jennings 288; David Stech 86; Beverly Enright 532; John Seaton 47t; Dan Boyle 32b; Ted Mercer 299; Marcia Johnson 340; Doug Stapleton 159; Al Frank 362; Sue Kessel 236; Lisa Grayson 218 (for Julie Vea, whose father passed away recently); Melanie Hauff 277; Judy Holst 499; Ted Johnson 385t; Randy Neufeld 84; Beverly Enright 126; John Seaton 147t; Ted Mercer 208.

Announcements were made. Natalia Cecire led song on page 347 for the closing song as the class took the parting hand. Jim Swanson led the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

The Lincoln’s Birthday Singing is always scheduled during the University of Chicago Folk Festival, held in early February each year. Contact the University of Chicago Shape Note Singers Association for information about next year’s singing.

Chair—Natalia Cecire; Vice Chair/Arranging Committee—Ariel Weinberg; Secretary—Suzanne Flandreau.