Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Near Heflin, Alabama

August 19, 2001

The one hundred-twelfth session of the Cleburne County Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church near Heflin, Alabama on the third Sunday in August.

Vice Chairman Billy J. Harris called the class to order leading song on page 32t. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer. Billy J. Harris led song on page 303; Mary Florence Smith 37b, 225t; B.M. Smith 49b; and “Happy Birthday” was sung to Henry Johnson.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Billy J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Eunice Webb; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards; Memorial Committee—Mary Florence Smith.

Henry Johnson led the Introductory Lesson with songs on pages 72b and 435 as the selections. The Introductory Lesson was taken from a book that was given to the Cleburne County Convention by the late J.W. Laminack with the stipulation that the book only be used when in conjunction with the Introductory Lesson.

Leaders: Eunice Webb 390; Earlis McGraw 148 (for Mozelle Sheppard), 163t; Glenda Collins 282, 124; Nancy Allen 45t; Rodney Ivey 317, 318; Charlene Wallace 99, 139; Tommy McGraw 108t, 475; Reba Norton 441, 328; Lonnie Rogers 186, 448b.


Billy J. Harris called the class to order leading song on page 503. Leaders: Everette Denney 146, 335, 489; LaRue Allen 426b, 277; Bud Oliver 48t, 47t; Laura Clawson 115, 297; John Plunkett 354t, 540; “Happy Birthday” was sung to Flora Skinner in honor of her 93rd birthday which will be on August 21; Flora Skinner 405, 434; Anita Landess 73b, 480.

Mary Florence Smith gave the memorial service and spoke of the many years that the late Cecil Edwards had given of his time and effort in support of this convention. Cecil Edwards served in the capacity of Chairman or as Vice Chairman for this convention for many years, and will be missed by the singers and the community for all that he did to support and sustain this convention and others throughout the area. Mary Florence Smith led songs on pages 97 and 144, two songs that Cecil Edwards led at this convention last year. Also remembered was another faithful member who had supported this convention and other singings in the area throughout his life, Walter Hamrick. Walter Hamrick passed away since the convention met last year. The convention lost two people who will be missed very much here and throughout the singing community. We would also like to remember all those who have passed away that worked so hard to keep this convention, and others like it, going and for their support and encouragement to other singers.

Felton Denney led songs on page 47b and 31t for the sick and shut-ins: Alice Edwards, Vivian Rogers, Mozelle Sheppard, Polly Moore, I.V. McWhorter, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Hazel Parker, and Sandie Nelson. Mary Florence Smith closed the memorial with prayer.


Eunice Webb brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 276. Leaders: Jimmie Denney 61, 63; Floy Wilder 187, 430; Margie Smith 494, 393; Hugh McGraw 312b; Milton Oliver 206; Carlene Griffin 448b, 117; Eugene Forbes 299, 203; Howard McGuire 354b, 269; Betty Wright 145b; Evelyn Harris 155, 89; Cecil Roberts 128; Winford Kerr 294, 36t; Nellie Mae White 119, 129; Lou Cotney 218, 196; Lewis Norton 418, 490; Joyce Clackum and Katherine Benefield 127, 56t; Henry Johnson and Rodney Ivey 385t, 384, 34t; Felton Denney 523b; John Plunkett 564.

The Cleburne County Convention will be held at Cane Creek Church again next year.

Announcements were made. Billy J. Harris and Eunice Webb led song on page 62 as the closing song. Elder Lewis Norton dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Billy J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Eunice Webb; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.