Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Gum Pond, Alabama

Saturday, July 21, 2001

The one hundred-thirteenth session of the Cotaco Convention was called to order by Elder Daniel Hopper leading song on page 147b. The morning prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper. Dan Hopper led songs on pages 95, 129, and 179. Leaders and selections were as follows: Judy Caudle 33b, 276, and 406 (by request of Mrs. Lessie Grant); J.L. Hopper 407, 358 (by request of Mr. Cotton Shaddix); Jonathon Thompson 384, 84; Hershell King 204; Delone Cobbs 127, 144; Brandon Thompson 274 (t? b?), 335; Steve Cobbs 285t, 146, 480; David Roberson 436, 100.


The class was called to order by Buckley Hopper leading song on page 39t. Leaders and selections: Cecil Sanders 123t; Arvid Holmes 460; Billy Williams 448b, 39b; Marie Guthrie 222, 192; Nancy Thompson 40, 101t; Elvin Guthrie 234, 200; Eldagene Roberson 89, 81t; Lomax Ballinger 168, 300; Jimmie Gilmore 68b, 143; Imogene Nelms 383, 53. Elder Daniel Hopper led the class in prayer before lunch.


After enjoying a bountiful lunch and fellowship, the class was reassembled by Chairman Buckley Hopper leading song on page 268.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Buckley Hopper; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Brandon Thompson. The new chairman opened the floor and gave the opportunity for anyone desiring to host the next session of the convention to make their request known. None were received, so the 114th session of the convention will remain with Gum Pond Church for July 2002. The business session was closed.

Leaders and selections: Milford Cobbs 381, 323b; Bud Oliver 30t, 145b; Arthur Gilmore “Jesus Died For Me” (WB), 565; Wilda Holmes 490, 501 (CB); Kenneth Fannin 176b, 313t; Carol Fannin 109, 122; Carol Newman 378t, 388; Athea Gibbs 174t, 47t; Jeremy Wootten 235b, 59; Winell Sanders 569b; Linton Ballinger 36b, 35; Elene Stovall 99, 208; Buckley Hopper 475, 489; Judy Caudle 236 (by request); Buckley Hopper 441; Daniel Hopper 451.

Jonathon Thompson led song on page 46 as the closing hymn, and the class was dismissed by prayer offered by Elder Daniel Hopper.

Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Buckley Hopper; Secretary—Judy Caudle.