Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church

Near Fayette, Alabama

June 24, 2001

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held at Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in June. The class was called to order by Linton Ballinger leading song on page 32b. Earl Ballinger led the class in the morning prayer.

The class organized with the following officers being elected or appointed: Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Johnny Humber; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger.

Leaders: Larry Ballinger 89; Lomax Ballinger 81t; Johnny Humber 460; Edwin Ballinger 340; Charles Humber 480; Teresa Ballinger 212; David White 137; Lisa Geist 507; Beverly Nelson and Kim Watkins 299; Albert Humber 313t; Leslie Ballinger and Patrick Brady 78; A.A. Malone 183; Janet Litton and Anna Litton 155; Jimmy Ballinger and James L. Ballinger 441, 200.


Buddy Ballinger called the class back to order by leading song on page 399b. Leaders: Dwayne Ballinger 300; Amanda Ballinger 454; Jeffry Ballinger and Edwin Ballinger 108t; Teresa Guyton 216; Tim Cook 163b; Jerry Enright 542; Nate Green and Norma Green 70b, 119; Sherry Stover 445b; Ken Tate 430; Miranda Gilbreath 35; Donna Wootten 274t; Milton Oliver 222; Diane Anderson, Judy Thomas, and Brenda Robbins 45t; Leon Ballinger 490 (for those who have passed away and had supported this singing).


Gravis Ballinger brought the class back to order leading song on page 99. Leaders: Emily West and Jill Ballinger 477, 59; David Ballinger, Zackery Thomas, and Will Thompson 123t; Karen Freund 402; Clarence McCool 475; John Merritt 392 (CB); Julie Ballinger, Carol Robbins, and Amber Ballinger 405; S.T. Reed 289; Willodean Barton 290; Betty Wright 484; Wilton Donaldson 565; Jayne Fulmer 384; Phillip Ballinger and Kaytln Ballinger 142.


Earl Ballinger called the afternoon session to order leading song on page 217. Leaders: Chris Ballinger 350; Warren Steel 352; Flarce Creel 146; Johnny Lee and Delorese Lee 503, 116; Sarah Harcrow 186; Velton Chafin 149; Ivalene Donaldson 270; Max Berueffy 396; Cassie Franklin 440; Coy Ivey 559 (CB); Edith Tate 436; Bud Oliver 145t; Elene Stovall 558; Rodney Ivey 269; Joan Aldridge 198; Shane Wootten 424; Paula Gilmore and Philip Gilmore 566, 278 (t? b?); Randall Smith 36b; Toney Smith 225t; Amanda Denson 421; Harrison Creel 111b; Juliette Haynes 192; Buell Cobb 398; Beth O’dell 546; Linda Thomas 345b; Bill Stewart 452; Joyce Hubbert 273; Wayne Baines 560.

Linton Ballinger led song on page 46 as the closing song. Buddy Ballinger led the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Johnny Humber.