Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church

Carrollton, Georgia

May 6, 2001

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church was held on the first Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Felton Denney leading song on page 73b. Lonnie Rogers led the morning prayer.

Leaders: Felton Denney 73t; Sheri Taylor 114, 186; Everette Denney 119, 405; Lonnie Rogers 75, 298; Charlene Wallace 267, 274t.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Philip Denney; Vice Chairman—Bernard Denney; Chaplain—Louis Hughes; Secretary—Sheri Taylor; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace; Memorial Committee—Jan House and Shelbie Sheppard.

Leaders: Jimmie Denney 63, 143; Earlis McGraw 213t, 225t; Philip Denney 164, 120; Jan House 224, 137; Richard Driver 155, 472; Donna Duke 101t, 159; Bobby Jackson 147t, 290.


Bernard Denney brought the class to order leading songs on pages 339 and 145b. Leaders: Glenda Collins 282, 410t; John Plunkett 91, 569t; Josephine Denney 32t, 503; Charles Wood 39t, 85; Shelbie Sheppard 179; Jeremy York 454, 66; Orlanda Driver 127, 40; B.M. Smith 204, 28b; Teenie Moody 29t, 37b.

Jan House conducted the memorial lesson, and Hugh McGraw led song on page 231 for the deceased: Ethel Mae Entrekin, Allene Stanford, J.J. Aderhold, J.D. Muse, Jack Corley, and Jack Smith—Georgia; Cecil Edwards, Eloise Watkins, and Erskine Norton.

Myron House led song on page 340 for the sick and shut-ins: Mozelle Sheppard, Norma House, Bernice Harper, Vivian Rogers, Revy Williamson, Gladys McGraw, Wilford Denney, B.J. Harris, Evelyn Harris, I.V. McWhorter, Alice Edwards, Katharine Benefield, and Polly Moore. The memorial was closed.


Henry Schuman brought the class to order leading songs on pages 145t and 344. Leaders: Margie Smith 335, 108t; Raymond Hamrick 448b, 402; Eunice Webb 475, 392; Louis Hughes 420, 421; Renita Faldo 358, 457; Tommy McGraw 365, 39b; Nancy Allen 106; Jeff Sheppard 176t, 176b; Mary Florence Smith 53, 99; Oscar McGuire 276, 573; Phillip Langley 384, 107; Dennis Faldo 452, 68b; Carlene Griffin 146, 117; Louise Holland 273, 43; Joan Collins 408.

Announcements were made. Philip Denney and Bernard Denney led song on page 209 as the closing song. Louis Hughes dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Philip Denney; Vice Chairman—Bernard Denney; Secretary—Sheri Taylor.