Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Chicago Anniversary Singing

Ida Noyes Hall, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

Saturday, November 18, 2000

The second annual University of Chicago/Hyde Park Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairman Kiri Miller leading song on page 59. Jim Swanson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Suzanne Flandreau 276; Cathryn Baker 481; Jim Helke 441; Bill Hamblin 47b; Marcia Johnson 340; Orwin Youngquist 38t; Violet Stark 66; Rachel Adelstein 250; Al Frank 362b; Kiri Miller 56b (for D.J. Hatfield, a founding member of the singing who could not attend).

The business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Kate Lingley; Vice Chairman—Ariel Weinberg; Arranging Committee/Secretaries—Natalia Cecire and Suzanne Flandreau; Chaplain—Jim Swanson; Memorial Committee—Mark Miller and Matt Wells.

Leaders: Kate Lingley 297; Ariel Weinberg 65; Doug Stapleton 36b; Randy Neufeld and Susan Geil 178; Matt Wells 300; Melanie Hauff 68t; Nick Pasqual 565b; Bruce Holmes 146; Anne Heider 192; Jacob Affalter 504; Ted Mercer 202; Jim Swanson 181; Steve Warner 84; Judy Hauff 377.


Kate Lingley called the class together leading song on page 284. Leaders: Ted Johnson 536; Mark Miller 201; Kelly Brest van Kempen 335; Cathryn Baker 384; Matt Wells 203; Steve Warner 547; Violet Stark 30t; Anne Heider 171; Doug Stapleton 200; Natalia Cecire 538; Jacob Affalter 236; Marcia Johnson 368; Orwin Youngquist 107; Kiri Miller 179; Melanie Hauff 485; Rachel Adelstein 306; Al Frank 113; Susan Geil 81 (t? b?); Randy Neufeld 148.


Ariel Weinberg opened the afternoon session leading song on page 117. Leaders: Jim Helke 33b; Lisa Grayson 112; Jason Osik 122; Ted Johnson 501; Nick Pasqual 76t; Doug Stapleton 137; Sue Kessell 218; Suzanne Flandreau 32t; Ted Mercer 278b; Kelly Brest van Kempen 312b; John Seaton 147t; Bruce Holmes 472; Kate Lingley 172; Judy Hauff 196; Mark Miller 269; Jim Swanson 224; Dean Slaton 212; Marcia Johnson 454; Jacob Affalter 569b; Matt Wells 497; Kiri Miller 430; Jim Helke 186.

The class held a memorial lesson in memory of loved ones and friends deceased during the past year, and to remember those in poor health. Mark Miller led song on page 47t for the deceased: Marie Aldridge, Virgil Phillips, and Ruby Phillips—Alabama; Ed Craig—Texas; Dollie Hudgins and Vedie Touchstone—Georgia; Isabel Arnold (Kiri Miller’s grandmother)—Massachusetts; Jim Jansen—Wisconsin; Aris Terli and Eileen Holmes (Bruce Holmes’s mother)—Illinois; Ray Schlabach—Ohio.

Matt Wells led song on page 28b for the sick and shut-in: John Flandreau and Judith Dievendorf—New York; Madeleine Steel—Mississippi; Miriam Pasqual and Cecilia Hanson—Illinois; Randy Wells—Florida; John Morris—Maryland. The Memorial Committee led song on page 348b to conclude the memorial lesson.


Kate Lingley called the class back together with song on page 63. Leaders: Natalia Cecire 50t; Sue Kessell 365; Nick Pasqual 569 (t? b?); Kelly Brest van Kampen 480; John Seaton 68b; Lisa Grayson 349; Ted Mercer “Millbrook”; Jason Osik 86; Mark Miller 29t; Melanie Hauff 215; Ted Johnson 419; Dean Slaton 361; Susan Geil 220; Randy Neufeld 155; Judy Hauff 436; Al Frank 360; Kiri Miller and Laura Koepke 270.

After announcements the officers led song on page 347 as the closing song. Jim Swanson dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Kate Lingley; Vice Chairman—Ariel Weinberg; Secretaries—Natalia Cecire and Suzanne Flandreau.