Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Singing Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 8-9, 2000

Saturday, July 8

The annual Cullman County Courthouse Singing Convention was convened on Saturday, July 8, 2000 at the Courthouse on the third floor in one of the courtrooms. Billy Williams called the singing to order leading song on page 33b. The morning prayer was given by Robert Bates, Circuit Clerk, who addressed the convention by welcoming everyone and offering an inspirational poem entitled “The Old Bridge Builder”.

Leaders: Billy Williams 39b; Elvin Guthrie 81t, 139; Eron White 37b, 73t; Aubrey Tyree 434, 298; Mary Alice Wakefield 335, 56t; Hershell King 426t, 97; Eldagene Roberson 142, 306; John Merritt 300, 528; Kathy Robinson 89, 155; Buell Cobb 390, 235.


Glenn Keeton brought the class to order leading songs on pages 85, 192, and 412. Leaders: Gennie Nelms 446, 373; Travis Keeton 131b; Kathleen Robbins 30t, 436; Gene Wakefield 138t, 112; Amanda Denson 168, 203; Eron White 146, 391; Brenda Merritt 336, 475; Euel Freeman 64; Rhoda Norris 187, 177; John Merritt 294 (by request); Judy Caudle 45t (by request).


John Merritt called the afternoon session to order leading songs on pages 399t and 399b. Leaders: Amber Springfield 389, 380; Betty Shivers 454, 143; Lena Keeton 234, 512; Marie Guthrie 222, 411; Kathy Ponder 164, 490; Lydia Baswell and Velea Dailey 145 (t? b?), 147 (t? b?); Ruth Walker 460, 480; Eunice Kimbrell 43, 69t; Kathleen Robbins 327.

A business session was held. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Elvin Guthrie; Vice Chairman—John Merritt; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson; Arranging Committee—Judy Caudle; Memorial Committee—Eron White and Gennie Nelms. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Corene White and Eron White 384; Elvin Guthrie 268 (requested by the class); Judy Caudle 54, 79, 450; John Merritt 153, 157; Roscoe Knight 100, 127; Buell Cobb 425b; Ruth Burleson and Marie Guthrie 138b; Kathy Ponder 87; Brenda Merritt 426 (t? b?).

Announcements were made. Elvin Guthrie led song on page 521 as the closing song. Aubrey Tyree dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, July 9

The Sunday session was called to order by Elvin Guthrie who welcomed everyone and led song on page 49t. Lamar Smith offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Elvin Guthrie 73b; Billy Williams 450, 54; Gennie Nelms 126, 269; Reedie Powell 496, 369; Lamar Smith 76b; Corene White 171, 216; Velton Chafin 127, 225t; Manilia Hudson 30t, 551; Richard Mauldin 72b, 36b.


John Merritt called the class to order leading songs on pages 176 (t? b?) and 503 (for Thurman Nall). Leaders: Marie Guthrie 113, 280; Randall Smith 343, 300; Corene White 408; Aubrey Tyree 42, 47 (t? b?); Ruth Walker 48t, 73t; David Roberson 220, 196; Aubrey Tyree 208, 189; Edith Tate 155, 371; David Light 192, 436; Eldagene Roberson 354b, 313t; Henry Guthery 100, 101t; Jewel Wootten and Freeman Wootten 106, 426t; Edis Guthrie 349, 172; Willodean Barton 416, 314; Brenda Merritt 142, 430.

The memorial lesson was presented by Eron White. Eron commented that when we come to this part of the convention, it makes us sad, but also glad when we think of the singers and friends who have passed away since last we met. It brings joy to our hearts to know we will be able to sing with them around the Great White Throne. They gave their best to the cause and in the promotion of Sacred Harp singings, and may we never forget them and their memories.

Gennie Nelms read the list of deceased, and Henry Guthery led song on page 420b. Those remembered: Virgil Phillips, Ester Wall Brown, Rosa Hughes, Everett Kilgo, Audie Black, J.L. Oden, Patsy Merritt, Mary Oden, Gertie Knight, Charles Grant, and Stella Stricklin.

Gennie Nelms read the list of the sick and shut-ins, and Eron White led song on page 340. Those remembered: Alpha Black, Ruby Phillips, Thurman Nall, Lou Nall, I.V. Cockrell, Tommye Denson Mauldin, Emma Pirkle, Sheila Moon, Mavis Price, and Marie Aldridge. John Merritt closed the memorial session with prayer. Respectfully submitted by: Gennie Nelms and Eron White—Memorial Committee.


Elvin Guthrie called the afternoon session to order leading songs on pages 74b and 383. Leaders: Amanda Denson 272, 216; Charles Woods 30b, 546; Craig Holms 354 (t? b?), 111t; Judy Caudle 294, 361; Randall Smith 137; Flarce Creel 299, 297; Charles McCraney 143, 129; Velton Chafin 97, 472; Richard Mauldin 146, 63; Bud Oliver 335; Henry Guthery 112, 542; Willodean Barton 290; Amanda Denson 276.

Announcements were made. Elvin Guthrie led song on page 62 as the closing song. John Merritt dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Elvin Guthrie; Vice Chairman—John Merritt; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.