Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

Jasper, Alabama

Saturday, July 15, 1995

The eighty-first session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Convention was called together by Velton Chafin leading song on page 31b. The morning prayer was led by Glen Keeton. Velton Chafin then led 31t. Cecil Sanders led 314, and then called the following leaders: Joshua Keeton 111t, 111b; A. A. Malone 127, 142; Glen Harper 68b; S. T. Reed 64, 65; Ada Godsey 499b; Coy Ivey 101t, 63; Mae Conwill 77t, 78; Roxie Keeton 382, 441; Ruby Phillips 39b, 393; Flarce Creel 460, 203; Tom Harper 373, 300, 500; Gene Wakefield 168, 164.


The class reassembled with Velton Chafin leading song on page 34b. The class at this time entered into a business session to elect the following officers: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate; Memorial Committee—Cynthia Franklin and Brenda Merritt. Singing resumed and leaders called were: Roma Rice 120, 84; Carol Lunsford 129, 61; Ila Ingle 480, 384; Brenda Merritt 319, 475. The memorial was held at this time using scripture from Hebrews 11:13. Cynthia Franklin led song on page 317b for the following singers or lovers of singing. Deceased: Dessie Jackson, Doc Jackson, Leon Price, Bertha Henson, Ted Godsey, Lois Green, Ervin Brothers, Lindsey Crider, Harley Hocutt, Jack Harcrow, Aubry Persall, Bud Ingle, Beatrice Shumack, and Trixie Vandiver. We also remembered the sick and shut-in: Aver Crider, Floyd Screws, Mamie Creel, Lucille Tolbert, John and Agnes Hocutt, Bill Green, Josie Hyde, Lillie Hartley, Alma Lambert, and Irvin Creel. The memorial was closed with prayer by John Merritt. Leaders: Cassandra Franklin 138 (t? b?), 187; Travis Keeton 53, 99.


The class was called back by Travis Keeton leading 48t. Leaders: Keterina Sanders 89, 389; Lora Cargo 222, 145b; Edith Tate 73t; John Merritt 274 (t? b?), 358; Glen Keeton 49b, 535; Cynthia Franklin 523, 137; Elmer Conwill 97, 442; Harrison Creel 498, 530; Willodean Barton 391, 454, 145t; Carol Lunsford 176b; John Merritt 74t; Joshua Keeton 75. After announcements were made, Velton Chafin led 521, and the class was dismissed with prayer by Harrison Creel.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate.