Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Denney Memorial

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia

Saturday, November 2, 2019

The Denney Memorial was held at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the first Sunday in November. Tony Hammock and Philip Denney led 535 as the opening song. Philip Denney welcomed the singers and visitors to the Denney Memorial. Denney Rogers offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Tony Hammock 60; Judy Chambless 37b; Denney Rogers and Karen Rollins 153 (in memory of Jimmy Denney); Fred Eady 178, 192; Winfred Kerr 36b, 59; David Brodeur 231, 267; Jeannette DePoy 387 (in memory of Felton Denney), 448t; Rebecca Over 333 (in memory of Earlis McGraw), 186 (in memory of Aubrey Barfield); Thomas Smith 448t, 282; Cricket Campbell 159, 167; Robert Chambless 452.


Philip Denney, Mary Simpkins and Steve Riddle brought the class back to order leading 87. Leaders: Andy Ditzler 210; Amber Davis 142; Pam Nunn 528; Samuel Williams 446; Cindy Tanner 280; Henry Johnson 388; Anna Hinton 455; Sarah Trumbore 373; John Plunkett 486; Oscar McGuire and Cassie Allen 485.

Karen Rollins gave the memorial lesson talking about how music is so important in life. She told about people who have trouble remembering family members can still sing Sacred Harp. Karen Rollins, Denney Rogers, Karleen Williams and Paige Harrod led 119 in memory of the following deceased: Charlene Wallace, Eugene Forbes, Ottis Sides, Larry Smith, Susan Roberts, Sara Nelson, Concetta Branson, Aubrey Barfield, Robbie Rivers, Ruth Daniel, Mildred Patterson, Rozlyn Greene, Hugues Albanel, and Paul Wilson. Also remembered were the following sick and shut-ins: Don Bowen, Judy Mincey, Norma Mincey, Velton Chafin, Eris Denney Muse, Johnny Harrod, and Coy Ivey. Henry Johnson closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Nathan Rees 56t; Eli Hinton 299; Ainslie Allen 460; Rodney Ivey 480; Jen Rymut 560; Tom George 203; Jesse Karlsberg 423; Cassie Allen 352; Matt Hinton 351; Jack Nelson 318. In a business meeting the following officers were elected: Chairman—Philip Denney; Vice Chairman—Tony Hammock; Secretary—Judy Chambless. Matt Hinton asked the blessing before the noon meal.


Wyatt Denney brought the class back to order leading 39t. Leaders: Justin Bowen and Philip Denney 120; Donna Duke and Gene Duke 100; Lauren Bock 343; Dan Edwards 384; Richard DeLong 467; Jonathon Smith 481; Gayle Denney and Philip Denney 340; Wyatt Denney 317; Marilyn Bradley and Oscar McGuire 58; Jen Rymut 204; Rebecca Over 72b; Thomas Smith 49b; Cricket Campbell 144; Justin Bowen 392; Jonathon Smith 391; Tom George and Sarah Trumbore 546; Cassie Allen and Cindy Tanner 436; Eva Grace Horsley and Wyatt Denney 129; Ainslie Allen 132. After announcements, Philip Denney and Tony Hammock led 146 as the closing song. Philip Denney offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Philip Denney; Vice Chairman—Tony Hammock; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless