Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Young People’s Singing

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Morgan County, Alabama

Saturday, July 28, 2018

The 38th annual Young People’s Sacred Harp Singing Association met at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Morgan County, Alabama, on Saturday before the fifth Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Nicholas Thompson leading 204. Sarah Trumbore offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Beth Anne Clay 472; Justin Bowen 205; Hayden Arp 321; Butch White 503; Brittany Thompson, Nancy Thompson, and Claire Mason 186; Anna Grace Sipe 32t; Daniel Bearden 78; Sasha Hsuczyk 313t; Mary Francis Clay and Bekah Lauren Clay 274t; Shelby Castillo 37b; David Light 436; Jacob Acton 457; Judy Caudle 121; Delone Cobbs 354t; Sarah Trumbore and Kim Trumbore 138t; Amber Davis 454 (in memory of Willodean Barton); Lucas Jordan 59; Susan Cherones 56b.


Nicholas Thompson led 76b to bring the class back together. A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected and committee members were appointed to serve: Chairman—Nicholas Thompson; Vice Chairman—Beth Ann Clay; Secretary—Shelby Castillo; Arranging Committee—Hayden Arp and Justin Bowen; Chaplain—Sarah Trumbore; Resolutions Committee—Keillor Mose and Emily Stutzman; Finance Committee—Isaac Green and Jacob Acton; Locating Committee—Alex Forsyth, Becky Wright, Calum Woods, and Laura Hodges.

Leaders: Jesse Roberts 163t; Daniel Lee 179; Kathy Williams 505; Isaac Lloyd 326; David Carlton 272; Nathan Rees 371; Daniel Williams 74t; Kelsey Ivey 296; Jerusha Wheeler 362; David Brodeur 338; Phillip Langley 564; Judy Mincey 187; Mark Davis 214; Ezra Lloyd 542; Jonathon Smith 428; Jeannette DePoy 67; Henry McGuire 496; Micah Roberts 93.


The class was brought back to order by Justin Bowen leading 145t. Leaders: Carol Newman 373; Tom George 349; Andy Ditzler 573; Jennifer Lee 411; Lauren Bock 442; David Smead 399t; Elizabeth Gentry 319; Richard Ivey 445; Dennis George 367; Lisa Bennett 133; Logan Green 99; Emily Stutzman and Brandon Mayberry 270; Isaac Green 419 (for Ozella Blackmon); Susan Allred 183; Nancy Phillips 282. Sarah Trumbore asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Nicholas Thompson leading 217. Leaders: Chris Nicholson 34b; Jesse P. Karlsberg 302; Cheyenne Ivey 166; Ryan Nash 83b; Rebecca Over 268; Robert Green 178; Reba Windom 434; Laura Hodges 189; Kevin Griffin Moreno and Maria Goodson 269; Becky Wright 536; Vale Cofer-Shabica 131b; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 377; Keillor Mose 225b; Pam Nunn 507; Mike Richards 389; Barrett Patton 475 (in memory of B.M. Smith and Willodean Barton); Rachel Green 148; Ellen Ray 455.


Beth Anne Clay led 101t to bring the class back together. Leaders: J.L. Hopper 534; Elene Stovall 440; Eva Striebeck 30b; Lydia Lewellyn 55; Calum Woods 426t; Emma Rose Brown 56t; Evelyn Lamb 456; Blake Sisemore 532; Alex Forsyth 546; Molly Silva, Lina Silva, and Celeste Silva 480; Dalton Green 504; Linda Berkemeier 143; Peter Trumbore 112; Aldo Ceresa 215; Pattie Wareh 227; Dylan Fezzell 314; Mary Francis Clay and Jennifer Cogle 159; Tarik Wareh 45b.

A business meeting was held in order to hear reports from the various committees. The Secretary reported that ninety-five leaders representing twelve states and three countries led ninety-three songs. The Finance Committee reported that expenses had been met. The Resolutions Committee thanked God for His many blessings, and everyone who helped make the day a success. The Locating Committee reported that two requests for hosting next year’s singing were received, and that the Young People’s Singing will be hosted by singers in Utah in September, 2019. The business meeting was closed.

Nicholas Thompson and Beth Anne Clay led 521 as the closing song. Sarah Trumbore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Nicholas Thompson; Vice Chairman—Beth Anne Clay; Secretary—Shelby Castillo