Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Salem United Methodist Church Singing

Farill Community, Cedar Bluff, Cherokee County, Alabama

Saturday, June 24, 2017

The 16th session of the annual Sacred Harp singing at Salem United Methodist Church in Cedar Bluff, Alabama, was called to order by Henry Johnson leading 52t. Henry extended a warm welcome to everyone. Pastor Justin Yarbrough offered the opening prayer.

The following officers and committee members were previously elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—Jeffrey Richardson; Secretary—Carolyn Hanks; Welcoming Committee—Gayle Richardson, Patsy Richardson, Sherry Hendon, and Carolyn Hanks; Arranging Officer—Jeffrey Richardson.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 60; Paula Oliver 73t; Robert Chambless 303; Winfred Kerr 500; Eli Hinton 148; Riley Lee 64; Darrell Swarens 40; Judy Chambless 389; Loyd Ivey 91; Nate Green and Norma Green 177; Adrian Eldridge 411; Rodney Ivey 422; Margaret Thacker 452; Daniel Lee 566; Chris Brown 350; Ed Thacker 220; Judy Whiting 472; Andy Ditzler 311; Matt Hinton 306; Janice Paulk 517.


Henry Johnson called the class back to order by leading 489. Leaders: Hayden Arp 322; David Brodeur 502; Jennifer Kearns 282; Richard Ivey 567; Denney Rogers 143; John Plunkett 421; Kelsey Ivey 30b; Nathan Rees 272; Judy Mincey 320; Gary Davis 565; Karen Flagg 345b; Reba Windom 222; Jared Wootten 228; Micah Roberts 390; Philip Denney 448t; Scott Oliver 278b; Jesse Roberts 327; Jesse Karlsberg 202; Marty Wootten 164. Elder Jesse Roberts asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Henry Johnson led 138t to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Cecil Roberts 31t; Samuel Williams 216; Lauren Bock 209; Isaac Green 419; Dan Edwards 56b; Shane Wootten 268; David Ivey 407; Esther Williams 72b; Cindy Tanner 342; Linda Thomas 39t; Sarah Trumbore 430; Judy Whiting 208; Adrian Eldridge 181; Darrell Swarens and Cindy Tanner 198; Janice Paulk and Alana Raines 551; Darlene Dalton 454; Loyd Ivey 318; David Brodeur 63; Sarah Tanner 475.

Henry Johnson led 45b as the closing song. Ed Thacker offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—Jeffrey Richardson; Secretary—Carolyn Hanks