Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ivey Memorial

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, January 29, 2017

The annual Ivey Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Liberty Baptist Church on the first fifth Sunday of the year. The class was called to order by Shane Wootten leading 59. Dennis George offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were previously elected to serve: Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Richard Ivey; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey; Arranging Officer—Jackie Tanner.

Leaders: Richard Ivey 482; Cheyenne Ivey 31t; Jackie Tanner 129; Scott Ivey 48t; Barrett Patton 200 (for Raymond Cruiz); Nate Green and Norma Green 317; Boyd Scott 358; Ellen Ray 111b; Eschol Hughes 542; Sarah Trumbore 411; Don Bowen 225t (in memory of Earlis McGraw and B.M. Smith); Rachel Jordan 441; Daniel Lee 566; Sasha Hsuczyk 271b; Winfred Kerr 36b; Jacob Acton 268; Isaac Green and Scott Ivey 400; Philip Denney and Karen Rollins 148.


David Ivey led 345b (in memory of S.T. Reed). Leaders: Nathan Rees 91; Henry Johnson 213b; Jenny Acton 112; Nick Hall 344; Edith Eddins 163b; Rachel Rodgers 32b; Dennis George 524; Eloise Wootten and Loyd Ivey 426b (for Susan Harcrow); Ewan Eddins 107; Lisa Bennett 499; Paul Figura 278t; Elam Eddins 304; Linton Ballinger and Lomax Ballinger 120 (for Gravis Ballinger); Ed Thacker 532; Emily Eddins 115.


Rodney Ivey led 343 (in memory of Bud Oliver). Leaders: Jared Wootten and Jamey Wootten 492; Elijah Boggs 82t; Kevin Eddins, Edith Eddins, and Eli Eddins 90; Samuel Williams 397; Lauren Bock 536; Phil Summerlin 97; Eli Hinton 77t; Dana Eddins 47t; Brandon Acton 430; Justin Bowen 292; Evie Eddins 183; Anna Hinton 468; Eli Eddins 34b; Andy Ditzler 71; Nicholas Thompson and Judy Caudle 522; Ezra Eddins 182; Kathy Williams 540. Mark Carroll asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Alex Forsyth leading 111t. Leaders: John Plunkett 53; David Smead 68t; Karin Covi and Max Berueffy 276; Marlin Beasley 318; Linda Booth 269; Cassie Allen 460; Terry Wootten and Loyd Ivey 89; Jesse P. Karlsberg 73t; Susan Cherones 564; Matt Hinton 131b; Cindy Tanner 76b; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 426t; David Brodeur 272; Judy Mincey 311; Loyd Ivey, Louise Ivey, Marion Biddle, Teresa Bethune, Lilly Underwood, Doug Ivey, Will Ivey, Candace Sizemore, Lindsey Watkins, Adam Biddle, Callie Watkins, Hallie Sizemore, and Vickie Ivey 454, 501 (CB); Elene Stovall and Barrett Patton 500; Grace Whitener, Vivian Ivey, and Karen Ivey 354b; Drew McGuire and Shelby Castillo 327; Kelsey Ivey 67; Pam Nunn 283 (for Sharon DuPriest and Daphene Causey); Buell Cobb 275t; Tom George 291; Erica Hinton 324.


The class was brought together by Marlon Wootten and Scott Ivey leading 176b. Leaders: Stuart Ivey 328; Isaac Lloyd 444; Daniel Williams 523; Chris Ryan 452; Ezra Lloyd and Gideon Lloyd 282; Syble Adams, Richard Ivey, and Shane Wootten 47b; Coy Ivey 384; Joyce Walton 456; Isaac Stiefel 230; Mark Carroll 49b; Elizabeth Gentry, Charlotte Gentry, and Lillie Bell 314; Shane Wootten and Marty Wootten 348b (in memory of Levon Wootten).

Shane Wootten led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Henry Johnson, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Richard Ivey; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey