Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Liberty Hill Community House, Barnesville, Georgia

Sunday, October 2, 2016

President Oscar McGuire called the class of the 97th South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention to order leading 59. John Hollingsworth offered an opening prayer.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 34b; John Plunkett 73b, 54; Lauren Bock 569t, 527; Helen Bryson 72t, 492; Bill Hollingsworth 50b, 466; Rebecca Over 571, 540; Jerusha Wheeler 36b, 85; Rosemund Watson 503, 66; Martha Harrell 99, 145b; David Smead 330t, 330b. As we broke for recess, it was announced that Wesley Haley and John Hollingsworth were the Nominating Committee.


John Plunkett called the class back to order leading 289. Leaders: Lisa Bennett 26, 27; Sandra Wilkinson 82t, 546; Jesse P. Karlsberg 486, 538; Anna Hinton 168, 142; Wesley Haley 45t; Mary Brownlee 452, 163t; Robert Chambless 70t, 77b.

A motion carried to enter into a business session wherein the Nominating Committee recommended retaining the following officers: President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—John Plunkett; Secretary—Lauren Bock; Treasurer—Helen Bryson; Chaplain—Matt Hinton. The Treasurer’s report for 2015-2016 was presented. Wesley Haley made a motion that South Georgia Convention singings contribute the full amount of money collected to the Convention, and that the Convention Treasurer pay for the singings’ expenses. The motion carried, and the report was approved. The class received and accepted a list of 2017 singings to be printed in the convention’s directory. The business session was closed. Matt Hinton offered grace.


John Plunkett called the class back to order leading 207. Leaders: Glenda Collins and Burt Collins 100, 101t; Matt Hinton 192, 147t; Winfred Kerr 146, 89; Judy Chambless 225t (in memory of Earlis McGraw), 475 (in memory of B.M. Smith and in honor of Margie Smith); Daniel Edwards 448b, 270; Russ Hanson 222; John Hollingsworth 461; Erica Hinton and Dera White 209, 138t; Rebecca Over 65; Anna Hinton and Fiona White 155, 47b; Mary Brownlee, Rosemund Watson, and Martha Harrell 94; Sandra Wilkinson and Carol Hanson 313t; Bill Hollingsworth 489.

Rosemund Watson led 347 as the closing song. Bill Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—John Plunkett; Secretary—Lauren Bock