Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Fayette County Convention

Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church, Fayette, Alabama

Sunday, August 7, 2016

The 117th session of the Fayette County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church, near Fayette, Alabama, on the first Sunday in August. Chris Ballinger called the class to order by leading 56t. Richard Mauldin offered the opening prayer.

Following welcoming comments, the class organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Lisa Geist; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman; Arranging Committee—Linton Ballinger and Lomax Ballinger.

Leaders: Chris Ballinger 331 (in memory of Steve Adams); Lisa Geist 283, 169; Lomax Ballinger 144, 274b; Teresa Hope 361, 384; Gravis Ballinger 215; Amanda Hardiman 196; Mike Hankins 480; Don Keeton 354t; Jimmy Ballinger 84; Betty Baccus 100 (for Julia Poston); Albert Humber 565; Lilly Underwood 496; Jack Pate 569b (in memory of Gary Smith); Eugene Forbes 203; Janet Litton 155; Richard Mauldin 339; Clarissa Fetrow 302; Jared Wootten 475; Buddy Ballinger 385b (in memory of Hamilton Ballinger and Artie Ballinger); Arlon Gardner 65.


Beth Wallace brought the class back together by leading 200. Leaders: Reba Windom 411; Jerry Kitchens 274t; Lauren Bock 383; Buell Cobb 80b; Kelsey Ivey 460; Kevin Beirne 396; Lauren Ballinger, Chris Ballinger, and Katie Ballinger 472, 344; Scott Ivey 567; Wanda Capps 36b; Nathan Rees 228; Joy Litton, Jill Porter, Ella Porter, and Eady Porter 45t; Nicholas Holmes 47t; Loretta Whitman 81t; Henry McGuire 148.


The class was called back to order by Earl Ballinger leading 389. Leaders: Judy Caudle 522; Ken Tate 314; Linda Sides 170; Glenn Keeton 365; Calum Woods 150; Loyd Ivey 306; Susan Cherones 564; Justin Bowen 224; Henry Guthery 431; Darlene Reynolds 145t; David Ivey 511; Mark Davis 530; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 430, 172; Danny Creel 182; Larry Ballinger 528. Buddy Ballinger asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Lisa Geist leading 492. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 421; Cassie Allen 30b (in memory of Toney Smith); Jesse P. Karlsberg 216; Shane Wootten 542; Jonathon Smith 442; Faye Donaldson 168; Drew McGuire 485; Richard Ivey 405; Don Jones 178; Wayne Baines 72b; Linton Ballinger 212; Kevin Beirne 498; Ann Jett 327; Larry Ballinger and Mrs. Cash 399b; Justin Bowen 343; Judy Caudle 318 (for Eloise Wootten and B.M. Smith); Mark Davis 240; Cassie Allen 110; Richard Ivey and Kelsey Ivey 432; Lauren Bock and Jesse P. Karlsberg 522; Glenn Keeton 117; Clarissa Fetrow and Calum Woods 351; Henry McGuire 456; Loyd Ivey 454; Henry Guthery 140; Nathan Rees 527; Shane Wootten, Scott Ivey, and Jared Wootten 106; Beth Wallace and Amelia O’Dell 560.

Chris Ballinger led 46 as the closing song. Earl Ballinger offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Lisa Geist; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman