Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church

Fayette County, Alabama

Sunday, June 28, 2015

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in June was called to order by Larry Ballinger leading 49t. Buddy Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

After welcoming comments, the class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope; Arranging Committee—Buddy Ballinger and David Ballinger.

Leaders: Larry Ballinger 110; Chris Ballinger 111b; Amanda Hardiman 454; Gravis Ballinger 215; Mike Hankins 282; Lorrie Wootten and Lisa Geist 426t; Sherry Stover, Linton Ballinger, and Allie Ballinger 35; Don Keeton 480; Glenn Keeton 349; Lomax Ballinger 144; Nate Green and Norma Green 373; Hayden Wootten and Cole Wootten 47t, 59; David Ballinger 340; Daphene Causey 140; Teresa Hope 361; Jimmy Ballinger 84; B.M. Smith 318; Amber Davis 380 (for her parents); Albert Humber 565; Sharon DuPriest 137; Nicholas Holmes 30t; Jarrod Litton 111t; Leon Ballinger, Judy Thomas, and Cindi Cockrill 490.


Earl Ballinger led 283 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jagger Eastman and Anna Eastman 155; Chris Ballinger, Katie Ballinger, and Lauren Ballinger 146; Earl Ballinger, Joy Litton, and Amelia O’Dell 63; Buddy Ballinger, Jill Porter, Ella Porter, Eady Porter, Sam West, and Aiden West 45t (in memory of Lavaughn Ballinger and Jean Ballinger); Elene Stovall 436; Barbara Cooley, Johnny Mac Cooley, Nathan Cooley, Seth Cooley, Ethan Tolar, and Jacob Tolar 108t; Patrick Brady and Leslie Brady 31b; Janet Litton 312b; Case O’Dell 47b (in memory of Jean Ballinger); Tory Colvin, Ridley Colvin, and Beth Wallace 217; Charles Humber 405; Miranda Burns 143; Ken Tate 278t; Shirley Tidwell 159.


Lisa Geist led 377 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Donald Jones 569b; Mike Richards 299; Susan Cherones 300; Drew McGuire 148; Cole Wootten and Rodney Ivey 445; Josh Ballinger, Phillip Ballinger, and Jay Ballinger 68b; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 277; Warren Steel 296; Hubert Nall 313t; Arlon Gardner 70b.


The afternoon session began with Larry Ballinger leading 528. Leaders: Loyd Ivey 30b; Angela Myers 442; Danny Creel 485; Ann Jett 546; Darrell Swarens 507; Richard Mauldin 77t, 168; Henry McGuire 532; Marty Wootten 99; Judy Caudle 455; Tony Ivey 139; Wayne Baines 89; Nathan Rees 396; Rodney Ivey 432; Jonathon Smith 204; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 316 (for Toney Smith); Lauren Bock 202; Scott Ivey 212; Jack Pate 145b; Chuck Howell 112; Edwin Ballinger, Linton Ballinger, and Lomax Ballinger 270; Betty Baccus and Edwin Ballinger 448b.

Following announcements, Larry Ballinger led 323t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Lomax Ballinger, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope