Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, June 21, 2015

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church in Roopville, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in June. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Karen Rollins leading 34b. The opening prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts.

The following officers were elected: Chairman—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless. Denney Rogers gave the financial report for the church and cemetery.

Leaders: Philip Denney 535; Judy Chambless 37b; Cecil Roberts 31t; Robert Chambless 39b; B.M. Smith 389; Wyatt Denney 49b; Erica Hinton 73t; Bentley McGuire 505; Ted Brown 101t; Eli Hinton 146; Rebecca Over 420 (in memory of her parents); Kathy Williams 209; Steve Warner 122; David Brodeur 74b; Ann Heider 350; Jeannette DePoy 460 (in memory of her dad); Jim Neal 84; Margaret Gillanders 142.


The class was brought back to order by the children of Lonnie Rogers leading 373. Eris Muse, the oldest surviving Denney, said a few words about the Denney family, and led 340. Leaders: Chris Brown 540; Andy Ditzler 387; Karen Clark 499 (in memory of her in-laws); Oscar McGuire 481; Judy Whiting 354t.

The lesson for the sick and shut-ins was given by Lonnie Rogers’s children leading 405 for the following people: Mr. and Mrs. George Garner, Gerald Rogers, Doris Rogers, Opal Cannon, Bob DePoy, and Melanie Hauff.

Matt Hinton spoke and led 82t in memory of the following deceased: Earl Denney, Josephine Denney, Harold Rogers, Moena Denney, Evelyn Harris, C.W. Garner, Raymond Hamrick, Charlotte Rogers, Wayne Prince, Stanly Edwards, Betty Wright, Danny Arms, Maynard Dolar, Gary Wiggins, Letha Parmur, JoAnn Cook, Jo Howarth Noonan, and the nine people who were shot in South Carolina. Cecil Roberts closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Sam Culpepper and Ellen Culpepper 30b; April Watkins 345b; Grandchildren of Lonnie Rogers 87; Alexandra Maymi 337; Steve Brett 316.


Philip Denney and Karis Askin brought the class back to order leading 145b. Leaders: Scott DePoy 65 (in honor of his dad); Helen Brown 392; Jesse P. Karlsberg 422; Rosalind Oldham 105; Aldo Ceresa 179; Billy See and Vickie See 178; Vicki Elliott 542; Sharona Nelson 203; Bobby Watkins 512; Lela Crowder 421; Faith Riley 448t; Lauren Bock 332; Earlis McGraw 284; John Plunkett 466; Marilyn Bradley 159 (in memory of Stanly Edwards and in honor of her mother); Philip Denney and Gayle Denney 100 (in honor of their mothers); Paige Harrod 112; Ted Brown and Helen Brown 187; Chris Brown and Judy Whiting 323t; Rebecca Over and Steve Brett 208; Margaret Gillanders and Rosalind Oldham 472; Vicki Elliott and Sharona Nelson 36b; Aldo Ceresa and Bentley McGuire 426b; Vicki See and Billy See 108b.

After announcements, Karen Rollins and Philip Denney led 46 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary-Judy Chambless