Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Burnham and Brown Memorial

Wesley Foundation Student Center, Jacksonville, Alabama

Sunday, February 1, 2015

The annual Sacred Harp singing in memory of Uncle Bob Burnham, Leman Brown, and Ruth Brown was held on the first Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Pearl Guier leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Pearl Guier 32t; Judy Caudle 61; Pam Nunn 186 (in memory of Jeff Sheppard); Cecil Roberts 37b; Margaret Thacker 33b; Judy Chambless 142; Loyd Ivey 31t; Henry Johnson 29b; Nicholas Thompson 530; Karen Rollins and Denney Rogers 389; Janelle Davis 171; Rodney Ivey 336; Ed Thacker 53; Susan Cherones 300; Nate Green and Norma Green 43; Jared Wootten 40.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Pam Nunn.


Ed Thacker led 421 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Robert Chambless 503; John Kelso 123t; Kenneith Calvert 155; Cheyenne Ivey 168; Marilyn Bradley 159; Paula Oliver 222; Buell Cobb 230; Charlene Wallace 101t; Scott DePoy 48t; David Brodeur 318; Lauren Bock 343; Terry Wootten 83t; Sharon DuPriest 460; David Ivey 202; Virginia Dyer 340; Rene Greene 432; Jesse P. Karlsberg 454 (for Ron Bornick); Jeannette DePoy 335; Scot Oliver 313t; Richard Ivey 102; John Plunkett 88b.


Pearl Guier led 448b. Leaders: Kathy Williams 297; Richard DeLong 116; Karen Freund 385t; Alanna Blanks and Arleigh Beard 405; Karen Ivey 475; Ann Simpson 445; Chris McKnight and Rene Greene 45t; Judy Caudle and Pam Nunn 542 (for Reba and Bill Windom), 216; Scott DePoy and Jeannette DePoy 128; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 129; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 565; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 146; Nate Green and Norma Green 166; Jesse P. Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 167; Karen Rollins and Denney Rogers 143; Nicholas Thompson and Cheyenne Ivey 215; Scot Oliver, Paula Oliver, Alanna Blanks, and Arleigh Beard 546; Rodney Ivey and Loyd Ivey 337; John Kelso and Richard Ivey 90; John Plunkett and Kathy Williams 77t. Cecil Roberts offered the blessing.


The afternoon session began with Judy Mincey leading 468. Leaders: Fallon Cook, Cain Cook, and Chance Cook 192; Fallon Cook 47b; Cecil Roberts and Ann Simpson 477; Henry Johnson and Janelle Davis 164; David Brodeur and Susan Cherones 228; Kenneith Calvert and Marilyn Bradley 63; Sara Michaels and Paula Oliver 354b; Terry Wootten and Jared Wootten 472; Richard DeLong and Rene Greene 140; Judy Mincey and Fallon Cook 112; Judy Mincey 283 (for Don Bowen); Sharon DuPriest and Pam Nunn 189.

Announcements were made. Pearl Guier led 46 as the closing song. David Ivey dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Judy Caudle