Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boston Sacred Harp Singing

Old South Church, Boston, Massachusetts

Saturday, May 8, 2010

The 1st annual Boston Sacred Harp Singing held at Old South Church on Saturday before the second Sunday in May was called to order by Kelsey Sunderland leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Liz Cantrell.

Leaders: Elizabeth Stoddard 32t; Yael Tarshish 448b; Robert Stoddard 101b; Liz Cantrell 313t; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 83t.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected to serve: Chairlady—Kelsey Sunderland; Vice Chairlady—Elizabeth Stoddard; Secretary—Yael Tarshish; Treasurer—Robert Stoddard; Chaplain—Liz Cantrell.

Leaders: Joanna Lampert 37b; Matt Cartmill 201; Chris Noren 66; Alvaro Duarte 312b; Jennie Brown 276; Howard Katz 99; Melissa Kline 335; Laura Borrelli 274t; D.J. Hatfield 411; Jeremy Galvagni 479; Al McCready and Cristin McMurray 84; Mary Jo Shafer 229; Suzan Greenberg 148; Willis McCumber 110; Ron Trial 299; Mary Seem 282; Carole Dempsey 102; Kendahl Goldwater-Feldman 74b; Gregorian Hawke 146; Sally Langendorf 401.


The class was called back to order by Elizabeth Stoddard leading 173. Leaders: Ariel Weinberg 203; Zachary Marcus 472; Jessica Holland 474; Deidra Montgomery and Cassia Hawke 388; Pat Callahan 549; Kshama Ananthapura 384; Bob Parr 208; Lynne deBenedette 76b; Richard L. Schmeidler 254; James Baumgartner 212; Ryan P. Young 134; Magdalena Eriksen 95; Eric Hildebrant 551; George Pomfret 168; Justin Levi 392; Mary Gowins 454; Ines Luttgen 160b; Anna Tarshish 86; Barbara Hohenstein 500; Robert Stoddard 147b; Bill Holt, A. Lafond, and J. Lafond 352. Liz Cantrell offered a prayer before the noon meal.


The class was called back to order by Kelsey Sunderland leading 142. Leaders: Lucy O’Leary 217; Boudicca Hawke 47b; Julian Damashek 402; Andy Lebrun 365; Bobbie Goodell 179; Ian Smiley 159; Lauren Bock 434; Richard Ivey 272; Barbara Swetman 91; Tom Malone 291; Kiri Miller 442; Allison Schofield 542; John Ostwald 49b; Anne Kazlauskas 218; Susan Loucks 270; Mary Seem and Zachary Marcus 408; Ines Luttgen 397; Lynne deBenedette 448t; Deidra Montgomery 216; Ryan P. Young, Anna Barss-Bailey, Brian Barthelmes, and Caitlin Barthelmes 390; Kshama Ananthapura 269; Al McCready 347; Suzan Greenberg, Yael Tarshish, Anna Tarshish, David Cordes, and Ankur Shah 377.


The class was called back to order by Liz Cantrell leading 52t. Leaders: Mary Gowins 128; Allison Schofield, Magdalena Eriksen, and Kshama Ananthapura 186; Barbara Hohenstein 271t; Ian Smiley and Carole Dempsey 124; Harry Huff and Elizabeth Stoddard 455; Kiri Miller and James Baumgartner 192; Bobbie Goodell 354b; Julian Damashek and Jeremy Galvagni 300; Richard Ivey 546; Tom Malone and Justin Levi 506; Lauren Bock and Barbara Swetman 475; Willis McCumber 224; Sally Langendorf and Katy Brown 378b; Mary Jo Shafer 225t; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 273; Chris Noren and Karen Noren 410t; Bill Holt, Bob Parr, and George Pomfret 112; Lucy O’Leary, Joanna Lampert, D.J. Hatfield, and Jennie Brown 436.

The Chairlady called a business session to ratify the constitution for the Boston Sacred Harp Musical Association and hear reports. The constitution was approved by all present. The Treasurer reported that all expenses had been met. The Secretary reported that 120 singers attended from eight states and three countries, and 73 leaders led 91 songs over the course of the day. Masti Mayrand and Richard Ivey submitted the Resolutions Committee report, thanking everyone who contributed to the singing. Announcements were made, and the business meeting was concluded.

Kelsey Sunderland, Yael Tarshish, Liz Cantrell, Elizabeth Stoddard, and Robert Stoddard led 62 as the closing song. Rachel Ingraham offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairlady—Kelsey Sunderland; Vice Chairlady—Elizabeth Stoddard; Secretary—Yael Tarshish