Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church

Ider, DeKalb County, Alabama

Sunday, April 13, 2008

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Antioch Baptist Church, Ider, Alabama, on the second Sunday in April was called to order by Aaron Wootten and Phil Townson leading 82t and 48t. The morning prayer was offered by Phillip Wootten.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairmen—Aaron Wootten and Phil Townson; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Aaron Wootten and Phil Townson 480; Judy Caudle 138b; Eddie Mash 532; Peter Golden 274t; Donna Bell 148; Pleasance Crawford 564; Beverly Coates 33t; Erin Mills 267; Robert Chambless 77t; Karen Clark 534; Barb Ames 270; Floy Wilder 432; Chris Holley 56b; John Plunkett 492; Kristi Harju 70b; Don Clark 415; Judy Chambless 393; Laura Densmore 542; Karen Bahler 551; Charles Crawford 378t; Jeb Owen 35; Henry Johnson 409; S.T. Reed 354t; Ed Thacker 402; Paul Figura 171; Michael Thompson 422; Brad Bahler 29t; Paul Lindholm 379.


Aaron Wootten brought the class back to order leading 101t. Leaders: Tom Owen 122; Danny Arms 313t; David Ivey 53; Phillip Wootten, Jennifer Cook, and Susan Pilcher 196; Shirley Figura 97; Terry Hullett 222; Bruce Coates 32t; Olivia Allen, Pat Moore, Robin Smith, Sharon Weber, Lauren Weber, and Olivia Weber 68b; Richard DeLong 74t; Jerry Creason 497; Karen Ivey 36b; Brenda Carroll 384; Shawn Carroll 28b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 428; Phil Summerlin 441; Pam Wilkerson 203; Reba Windom 546; David Lee 47b; Bud Oliver and Sammi Oliver 421; Karen Swenson 189; Ann Sleeva 198; Melvin Kersey 347; Nathan Rees 499; Charles Meitinger 352; Bridgett Hill 208. Phil Summerlin offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Aaron Wootten leading 76b. Leaders: Linda Sides 277; Jeremy Wootten 235; Darlene Dalton 503; Jackson Harcrow 348b; Raven Townson and Kennedy Wootten 186, 401; Jamey Wootten, Hayden Wootten, Cole Wootten, and Damien Wootten 460; Jenny Mann, Karolina Mann, Kaylee Mann, and Sarah Jenkins 354b; Dennis George and Tom George 155; Jared Wootten 63.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Shane Wootten and Marty Wootten. Shane Wootten spoke for the deceased and read the words from the song “Heavenly Rest”. He led 448t in memory of the following deceased and those buried in the Antioch Cemetery: Milton Oliver, Sam Jones, Chester Lacy, LaRue Allen, B.J. Harris, and Amanda Denson—Alabama; Joy Swenson and Paul Gilliland—Minnesota; Jeanette Lowry—Missouri; Donnie McGraw—Georgia; Pete Baker—Texas.

Marty Wootten spoke and led 176b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Lee Rogers, Eugene Forbes, Landis Powell, Leland Owen, and Violet Thomason. Ed Thacker closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Stuart Ivey and Allison Ivey 142; Louis Hughes 314 (in memory of Milton Oliver); Jordan-Leigh Taylor 479; Kathe Pilibosian 86; Max Berueffy and Karen Covy 164; Avalea Maxwell, Isaac Maxwell, Gavin Maxwell, Alexandra Craig, and Zach Craig 535; Terry Wootten 39t; Marlon Wootten, Shane Wootten, Eloise Wootten, and Donna Wootten 376 (in memory of Amanda Denson-Brady); Rodney Ivey, Joel Jenkins, and Sarah Jenkins 30b; Jeffrey Wootten 99; Kristie Wootten 215; Danette Townson and Debra Kane 163t, 49b; Syble Adams, Pam Wilkerson, Rhonda Arnold, and Sandra Meitinger 572 (CB); Susan Harcrow and Shelia Wootten 408; David Killingsworth 290; Jerry Wootten, Betty Wootten Mark Brown, Jeremy Wootten, and Christina Wootten 457, 47t; David Townson, David Wootten, Stacy Wootten, Damien Wootten, and Teresa Sailors 106; Loyd Ivey, Hobert Ivey, Marian Biddle, Scott Ivey, and Lorrie Wootten 424; Andrew Farris 178; Jenny Mann “Beulah Land”.

Aaron Wootten and Phil Townson led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Dwayne Wootten, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairmen—Aaron Wootten and Phil Townson; Secretary—Judy Caudle