Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Fayette County Convention

Bevill State Junior College, Fayette, Alabama

August 1, 1999

The one hundredth session of the annual Fayette County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at Bevill State Junior College on the first Sunday in August. The session was called together by Earl Ballinger leading song on page 59. Lavaughn Ballinger led the morning prayer.

This singing was in memorial of those who had supported the convention over the past 100 years.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Johnny Humber; Secretary—Leslie Ballinger; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Gravis Ballinger.

Leaders: Linton Ballinger 81t; Johnny Humber 200; Leslie Ballinger 78; Lomax Ballinger 565; Amanda Ballinger 186; Gravis Ballinger 144; Larry Wayne Humber 405; Emily Ballinger 477; Stuart Ivey 299; Buddy Ballinger 145t; Cecil Sanders 460; Dwain Ballinger 300; Jimmy Ballinger 45t; Annie Price 298; Richard Ivey 270; Amber Springfield 290.


The class was called to order by Lavaughn Ballinger leading song on page 84. Leaders: Lisa Geist 532; Sumner Ellis 82t; Cindy Franklin 546; John Hyde 129; Amber Ballinger and Jill Ballinger 47t; Nate Green and Norma Green 42, 235; Killi Rane 354b; Travis Keeton 496; Clarissa Springfield 343; Wayne Baines 317; Brenda Merritt 336; Edwin Ballinger 148; Rachel Richards 490; Teresa Ballinger 87; Linton Ballinger 212.


David Ballinger called the class together leading song on page 100. Leaders: Allison Ivey 189; Bickett Howton 373; Beatrice Brewer 123t; Velton Chafin 227; Etma Barton 441; Odie Horton 403; Beth O’Dell 288; Rodney Ivey 384; Paula Springfield 297; Julietta Haynes 280; Tim Cook 278t; Jayne Fulmer 36b.


The class was called together by Earl Ballinger leading song on page 204. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 139; Willodean Barton 416; Coy Ivey 318; Edith Tate 35; Clarence McCool 101t; Elene Stovall 316; Toney Smith 392; A.A. Malone 120; Karen Ivey, Stuart Ivey, and Richard Ivey 153; Jackie Tanner 172; Josie Hyde 408; Leon Ballinger 137; Gladys Bonds 499; David Ivey 110; Margaret Keeton 276; Bud Oliver 73t; Joyce Hubbert 378t; John Merritt 358, 340; Elmer Conwill 31t, 99; Walter Hamilton 196; Faye Donaldson 40; Leon Ballinger 269; Cindy Franklin and Edith Tate 111b; Coy Ivey and Karen Ivey 475; Paula Springfield, Clarissa Springfield, and Amber Springfield 58; Travis Keeton 142; Brenda Merritt, John Merritt, and Velton Chafin 434; Johnny Humber 176b; Allison Ivey and Kelli Rane 178; Tim Cook 66; Elene Stovall 217; Toney Smith and Joyce Hubbert 225t; Clarence McCool and Annie Price 349.

Announcements were made. Linton Ballinger led 146 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by John Merritt.

Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Johnny Humber; Secretary—Leslie Ballinger.