Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church

Near Fayette, Alabama

Sunday, June 24, 2012

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in June was called to order by Larry Ballinger leading 31b. Buddy Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

Larry Ballinger made comments of welcome. The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman; Arranging Committee—Gravis Ballinger and Buddy Ballinger.

Leaders: Larry Ballinger 155; Chris Ballinger 512; Amanda Hardiman 384; Gravis Ballinger 182; Leslie Brady 56t; Kermit Adams 426b; Wayne Baines 298; Teresa Hope and Mellie Hope 110; Mike Hankins 490; Chuck Howell 354b; Sherry Stover and Linton Ballinger 480; Wendell Rinehart 457; Charles Humber 405; Marlon Wootten 31t; Jerry Jenkins and Jennifer Jenkins 30t; Emily Burleson 546; Ronnie Ballinger 46; Scott Ivey 564; Albert Humber 565; Jimmy Ballinger 84; Case O’Dell 455; Beverly Nelson and Drue Nelson 299; Jarrod Litton 159; Larry Ballinger 342 (in memory of Harrison Creel).


Earl Ballinger led 167 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Joy Litton and Amelia O’Dell 63; Janet Litton and Anita Morris 112; David Ballinger, Donna Cooley, Johnny Cooley, and Zack Cooley 186; Anna Litton, Tory Colvin, and Ella Porter 137; David White 401; Miranda Gilreath 297; Nicholas Holmes, Larry Ballinger, Lisa Geist 47t; Emily West, Sam West, Jill Porter, Ella Porter, Eady Porter, and Buddy Ballinger 99; Steve Adams and Emily Burleson 378t; Arlon Gardner 277; Scott Kennedy 68b; Leon Ballinger, Tawny Ballinger, Correy Ballinger, and Cindy Cockrill 280; Johnny Humber 389; B.M. Smith 313t; Barbara Cooley, Mike Ballinger, and Jimmy Ballinger 439.


Lisa Geist, Larry Ballinger, Chris Ballinger, and Kahe Ballinger led 528 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Teresa Guyton 399b; Lorie Wootten and Hobert Ivey 235; Darrell Swarens 208; Beth Wallace 224; Lomax Ballinger 168; Elsie Moon 392; Toney Smith 225t; T.J. Mauldin 268; Ottis Sides 530; Nate Green and Norma Green 109; Catherine Williams 222; Joan Aldridge 217; Jamey Wootten 445.


The afternoon session was called to order by Linton Ballinger leading 144. Leaders: Ann Jett and Yancey Jett 136, 269; Danny Creel 498; Glenn Keeton and Lena Keeton 472, 86; Richard Mauldin and T.J. Mauldin 43; Hannah Humber 216; Rodney Ivey and Velton Chafin 232, 130; Linda Sides 215; Henry Guthery 507 (for Josie Hyde); Susan Cherones 278t; Faye Donaldson 430; Warren Steel 211 (in memory of Julietta Haynes); Elene Stovall 316 (for Toney Smith); Shane Wootten 442; Betty Baccus 284; Bridgett Kennedy 377; Loyd Ivey 283; Ken Tate 148; Marlin Beasley 322; Eddie Mash 279; Henry McGuire 532; David Ivey 172; Scott Ivey and Jamey Wootten 270 (for Bud Oliver); David Ivey 234 (for Josie Hyde); Leon Ballinger, Ronnie Ballinger, Jimmy Ballinger, and David Ballinger 424 (in memory of Lavaughn Ballinger); Steve Adams and Beth Wallace 309.

Following announcements, Larry Ballinger led 323t as the closing song. Buddy Ballinger offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman