Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alabama Collegiate Singing

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Saturday, February 19, 2000

The second annual session of the Alabama Collegiate Singing was held in the hall of the Wesley Foundation Methodist Student Center on the campus of the University of Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Tim Cook leading song on page 49t. Lavaughn Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Cook; Secretary—Amber Springfield; Arranging Committee—Latisha Crocker; Memorial Committee—Elder Donald Smith.

Leaders: Tim Cook 63; Donald Smith 448 (t? b?); Latisha Crocker 159; Amber Springfield 389; Harvey Dockery 68b; Mary Alice Wakefield 145b; Don Clark 503; George Cox 490; Cecile Cox 340; Edward Howton 436; Glenn Keeton 475; Regina Glass 421; Lora Cargo 498; Judy Caudle 150; John Plunkett 297; John Etheridge 67; Leslie Ballinger 78.


The morning session resumed with Elder J.L. Hopper leading song on page 178. Leaders: Etma Barton 298; Wayne Baines 155; Pinina Kane 335; Dewayne Hawthorne 341; Laura Akerman 137; Gravis Ballinger 300; Ruth Wyers 393; Glenda Hopper 40; Eugene Wakefield 168; Nate Green and Norma Green 312t; Ola Meadows 426t; Velton Chafin 144; John Merritt “Delusion”; Brenda Merritt 559 (CB); Charles Kitchens 90; Irma Hitt 317b; Toney Smith 328; Mako Cook 347. J.L. Hopper offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Tim Cook called the afternoon session to order leading song on page 186. Toney Smith stood to recognize the attendance of Colonel Rupert Yarbrough, who, though now on in years, was a pillar of the Sacred Harp community in Tuscaloosa. Leaders: Daniel Kinsaul 117; Amanda Denson 273; Huey Jones 306; Kate Merritt 196; Donald Smith 314; Latisha Crocker 274t; Amber Springfield 391; Don Clark 186; George Cox 348b; Cecile Cox 290; Maxine Lacy, Peggy Bergman, and Edward Howton 101t, 318; Glenn Keeton 278t; Regina Glass 29t; Lora Cargo 454, Judy Caudle 448t.

The memorial lesson was held with Donald Smith leading songs on page 69t and 75 for Claudine Lancaster. Mrs. Lancaster, another lifetime singer and supporter of Sacred Harp, provided several dishes for this singing the previous year, even though she was too infirm to attend. Memorial lesson concluded.


Tim Cook called the class back to order leading song on page 549b in honor of Dr. James Howell, another local Sacred Harp singer and supporter, not able to attend due to infirmities. Leaders: John Plunkett 308; Donavan Brown and Lavaughn Ballinger; W.T. Wyers 176b; Leslie Ballinger 30t; J.L. Hopper 245; Dwight Engle 445; Pinina Kane 319; Dewayne Hawthorne 326; Laura Akerman 569b; Gravis Ballinger and Amber Springfield 34b; Ruth Wyers 87; Glenda Hopper 108t; Eugene Wakefield 284; Nate Green and Norma Green “Nettie”; John Merritt, Brenda Merritt, and Kate Merritt 392 (CB), 38t (CB); Charles Kitchens and Talley Kitchens 205.

Announcements were made. Tim Cook led song on page 414b as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Donald Smith.

Chairman—Tim Cook; Secretary—Amber Springfield.