Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jack Kerr and Henry Kerr Memorial

Camp Ground Methodist Church, North of Fruithurst, Alabama

January 9, 2000

The annual memorial singing for Jack Kerr and Henry Kerr was held on the second Sunday in January at Camp Ground Methodist Church, and was called to order by B.J. Harris leading song on page 32t. Felton Denney led the morning prayer. B.J. Harris led song on page 30t; Charlene Wallace 59, 63; Hester Edwards and Charlene Wallace 123 (t? b?), 358 (in memory of Vertie Perry and Raymond Laminack).

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Mary F. Smith; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 34b, 338; Mary F. Smith 176b, 72b; Felton Denney 231, 147b; Bobby Jackson 34t, 378b, 378t; Evelyn Harris 47t, 155; Don Bowen 37b, 31t, 33b; Jimmie Denney 276, 101t, 274t.


Henry Johnson called the class to order leading song on page 570. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 544, 163t; Judy Mincey 475, 146; Lonnie Rogers 186, 225t, 348b; Hugh McGraw 350, 369; Carlene Griffin 81t, 222 (for Vivian Rogers); Everette Denney 335, 405; Winford Kerr 47b, 294; Lois Bowman, Winford Kerr, Irene Snow, and all the relatives of the Kerr family 45t.


B.J. Harris brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 445b. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 97, 325, 432; Eunice Webb 373, 235b; Mark Fuller 59, 68b; Ora Martin 274t, 208; Lou Cotney 497, 212, 172; Charlene Wallace 99, 283; Felton Denney 503; Mary F. Smith 569b; Judy Mincey 501b; Everette Denney 489b, 490; Earlis McGraw 435b.

Announcements were made. B.J. Harris and Henry Johnson led song on page 267 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by the pastor of the church.

Chairman—B.J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Mary F. Smith.