Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

May 23, 1999

The May Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church was called to order by Chairman Milford Cobbs leading songs on pages 75 and 46. The morning prayer was offered by Milford Cobbs. Leaders and selections were as follows: Arvid Holmes 171, 460; Judy Caudle 37b, 52t; Wilda Holmes 480, “Jesus Died For Me”; Christine Leeth 127, 496; Bud Oliver 73t, 39b; Corene White 146, 403; Randall Smith “That Beautiful Land”, 36b; Linton Ballenger 35, 40; Eldagene Roberson 300, 215.


The singing resumed with Milford Cobbs leading song on page 358. Leaders: Nancy Thompson 335, 441; Elvin Guthrie 172, 225t; Rhoda Norris 317, 392; Eron White 408; David Roberson 222, 340; Jonathon Thompson 384, 84; Marie Guthrie 189, 389; Brandon Thompson 47t, 274t; Lessie Grant 61, 42; Milford Cobbs 565, 45t.


The class was called to order after enjoying a bountiful lunch and fellowship.

A Memorial session was held at this time to remember those who have passed away. Milford Cobbs recounted memories of Alta Mae Self of Hartselle, Alabama who passed away in October, 1998 and of Edward Ozbolt of Eva, Alabama who passed away in December, 1998 and led number 80b. Mr. Ben Bradford of Michigan related a short story about his mother, Bera Bradford of Eva, who was a long time supporter of Sacred Harp singings and Judy Caudle led number 459 in her memory. The memorial session was closed.

Leaders: Buckley Hopper 457, 268; Eddis Guthrie 99, 186; Hershell King 101t, 67; Jane Long and Susan Holmes 100, 313t; Daniel Hopper 205, 301, 448t, 34t; Dexter Cobbs 235, 378t; Ron Crocker 48t, 77t; Craig Holmes 111t, 438; J. L. Hopper 149, 369, 163t, 56b. Milford Cobbs led number 381b as the closing song. Prayer was offered by Elder J. L. Hopper and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Milford Cobbs; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretary—Judy Caudle.