Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Old Harmony Primitive Baptist Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

April 18, 1999

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Old Harmony Primitive Baptist Church was held on the third Sunday in April beginning at 9:30 a.m. The class was called to order by B.J. Harris leading song on page 32t. Lonnie Rogers led the congregation in prayer. B. J. Harris led song on page 37b; Elder Neal Prichard 39b, 204, 566; Evelyn Harris 155, and 47t.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Elder Neal Prichard; Secretary—Evelyn Harris; Arranging Committee—Pearl Guier and Hester Edwards; Memorial Committee—Ruth Brown.

Leaders: B.J. Harris 303; Lonnie Rogers 33b, 176b; Jimmie Denney 143, 101t; Carlene Griffin 126, 146; Bobby Jackson 81t, 290; Lou Cotney 222, 300; Harvey Austin 108t, 335; Charlene Wallace 99, 299; Denney Rogers 318, 345t; Shelbie Sheppard 136, 141.


B.J. Harris brought the class to order leading song on page 87. Leaders: Roy Nelson 145t, 148; Alice Edwards 73b, 104; Hugh McGraw 531b, 448b; Lovella Kerr Campbell 127, 48t; John Plunkett 74t, 550; Ruth Daniel 378t, 452b; Howard McGuire 45t, 192; Mary Ann Scarbrough 323b, 445b.

Ruth Brown gave the memorial, and spoke on the traditions of the Sacred Harp. Lonnie Rogers led songs on pages 348b, 343b, and 358 for the deceased who have passed away during the last year. Those remembered: Herman Smith, Florence Williams, Cecil Gilliland, Essie Calvert, Horace DeLong, Mildred Smith, and Russell Hall. Howard McGuire led song on page 47b for Floyd Chupp and Clara Chupp Ering. Shelbie Sheppard led songs on pages 179 and 340 for the sick and shut-ins: Virgil Phillips, Ruby Phillips, Mozelle Sheppard, and I.V. McWhorter. The memorial was closed with prayer led by Elder Neal Prichard.


The afternoon session began with Elder Neal Prichard leading song on page 317. Leaders: Everette Denney 63, 426t, 34b; Don Clark 131b, 64; Mildred Patterson 274 (t? b?), 119; Jeff Sheppard 176t, 475; Pearl Guier 49b, 49t; Shirrell Durand 135, 569t; Mellie Mae White 106, 100; Lewis Norton 208, 34t; Jeff Sheppard 388; Don Clark 224; John Plunkett 269, 80t; Bobby Jackson 480; class singing 142, 186, 454, 127, 129, 460, 392, 485.

B.J. Harris and Elder Neal Prichard led song on page 46 as the closing song. Elder Lewis Norton dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—B.J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Elder Neal Prichard; Secretary—Evelyn Harris.