Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alabama Collegiate Singing

Wesley Foundation, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

February 27, 1999

The first session of the Alabama Collegiate Singing was held in the meeting room of the Wesley Foundation on the campus of the University of Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Tim Cook leading song on page 515b. The morning prayer was offered by Lavaughn Ballinger. Tim Cook led song on page 99; George Cox led song on page 490.

A business session was held for the purpose of electing officers. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Cook; Vice Chairman—Richard DeLong; Arranging Committee—Cindy Franklin; Secretary—John Bealle.

Leaders: John Bealle 100, 101t; Regina Glass 278t; Peggy Bergman 434; John Etheridge 74b; Lisa Geist 546; Cecile Cox 282; John Bealle 217; Eloise Clark 47t; Larry Ballinger 402; Anne Brodbeck 48t; Edward Howton 436; Wayne Baines 155; Gravis Ballinger 300.


The class was called to order by Tim Cook leading song on page 68b. Leaders: Junie McNeil 319; Tim Gray 40; Talley Kitchens 327; Charlene Wallace and Terre Lawson 63; Toney Smith 129; Bill Hogan 220; Richard DeLong 278b; Cassie Franklin 171; Durward Scarborough 339; Mattie Townsel 317; Warren Steel 396; Buell Cobb 75; Mary Thompson 358. Lavaughn Ballinger dismissed the class with prayer.


The afternoon session began with Tim Cook leading song on page 34b. Leaders: Charles Kitchens 326; Amanda Denson 186; Ola Meadows 400; Jean Gray 143; Ruth Wyers 206; Etma Barton 216; George Cox 108t; Travis Keeton 460; Carlene Griffin 222; Margaret Keeton 475; Cindy Franklin 269; Tim Cook 340; Walter Wyers 176b.


Tim Cook called the class to order leading song on page 178. Leaders: Lavaughn Ballinger 401; Mary Gardner 385 (t? b?); Charlie Smith 72b; Donavan Brown and Heather Brown 551; David Vinson 378b; Earl Howton 294, 290; Ola Meadows, Donavan Brown, and Heather Brown 146; Barbara Chalmers and Douglas Cook 45t. Tim Cook then offered some closing remarks on the planning of the singing, thanking the many people who had helped bring this singing together. Lavaughn Ballinger dismissed the class with a prayer.

Chairman—Tim Cook; Vice Chairman—Richard DeLong; Secretary—John Bealle.