Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Harmony Primitive Baptist Church

Calhoun, Georgia

November 15, 1998

The annual all day singing on the third Sunday in November was called to order by Chairman Judy Mincey leading song on page 59. Ed Smith gave the morning prayer. Judy Mincey led song on page 50b. Leaders: Ed Smith 32t, 222; Lee Rogers 31t, 43; Jeannette DePoy 203, 354t; John Plunkett 571, 168.

A business session was held with the class voting to retain the following officers: Chairman—Judy Mincey; Vice Chairman—Ed Smith; Secretary—Lee Rogers; Arranging Committee—Jeannette DePoy. Leaders: Judy Mincey 63; Liz Bryant 542, 300; John Lamb 85, 117; Chris Tweedy 535b; Eric Tweedy 455, 200; Laura Akerman 216, 441.


Judy Mincey brought the class back to order leading song on page 343. Leaders: Don Bowen 548, 99; Susie Smith 159, 440; Dick Dunagan 48t, 74b; Scott DePoy 155, 114; Margie Dietz 77b, 153; Loy Garrison 420b, 503; Melanie Harding 84, 143; Jackie Tanner 37b, 89.


Judy Mincey opened the afternoon session leading song on page 137. Leaders: Val Dunagan 66, 475; John Hollingsworth 236; Louis Hughes 39b, 489; Rodney Ivey 29t, 40; Linda Sides 328, 448t.

Judy Mincey offered the memorial lesson. Syd Caldwell led songs on pages 47t and 146 in memory of those deceased during the previous year. Richard DeLong led songs on pages 74t and 30b honoring the sick and shut-ins. Ed Smith closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 569b, 288; Elene Stovall 47t, 270; Floyd Beaters 100, 45t; Richard DeLong 439; Dennis George, Tom George, and Denise George 354b; Syd Caldwell 280 (for Bettie Touchstone and Mary Gardner); Chad Mitchell 127, 358; Mary Mitchell 61. Judy Mincey and Ed Smith led song on page 62 as the closing song. Loy Garrison dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Judy Mincey; Vice Chairman—Ed Smith; Secretary—Lee Rogers.