Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

First Presbyterian Church (Presbyterian Church in America),
Jasper, Alabama

Saturday, July 16, 2022

The 107th session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 89. Tim Gregg offered the opening prayer.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers and committee members to serve: Chairman—Brenda Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Lisa Geist; Arranging—Nicholas Thompson.

Leaders: Brenda Chafin 76b; Lisa Geist 546, 228; Nicholas Thompson 64, 182; Mike Hankins 34b, 282; Pam Kelly 456, 216; Bea Aaron 426b, 475; Hubert Nall 155, 192; Carolyn Thompson 203, 535; Linda Booth 515, 196.


Brenda Chafin led 30t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Philip Gilmore 31t, 37b; Ricky Beasley 30b, 68b; Earl Ballinger 177, 80b; Louise Yeager 480, 503; Mark Davis 208, 151; Kyle Seymour 146, 455; Tom Booth 454, 176b.


The class was brought back to order by Nicholas Thompson leading 200. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 448t, 448b; Stefani Priskos 97, 324.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Philip Gilmore led 77t in memory of the following deceased: Jayne Fulmer and Joan Aldridge—Alabama; Rebecca Over—United Kingdom; Solomon Oss—Oregon. Carolyn Thompson led 72b in honor the following sick and shut-ins: Ozella Blackmon, J.L. Hopper, Paula Springfield, Henry Guthery, Juanita Beasley, Jimmie Gilmore, Joe Gilmore, Leslie Gilmore, Richard Mauldin, and Aaron Kelly. Earl Ballinger closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Wanda Capps 298, 299; Cassie Allen 102, 126; Tim Gregg 108t, 108b.


The afternoon session began with Glenn Keeton leading 163b. Leaders: Stefani Priskos 131b, 209; Cheryl Waskiewicz 277, 178; Mark Davis 198, 436; Tim Gregg 375; Ricky Beasley 49b; Philip Gilmore 47b; Bea Aaron 175; Linda Booth 110; Hubert Nall 566; Pam Kelly 142; Nicholas Thompson 283. Announcements were made.

Brenda Chafin led 521 as the closing song. Elder Philip Gilmore dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Brenda Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Lisa Geist