Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt Museum, Huntsville, Alabama

May 2, 1998

The fourteenth annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday, May 2nd in the Madison Church building on the grounds of Burritt Museum and Park. Burritt Museum is located atop Monte Sano Mountain, the second highest elevation in Alabama. Mark Carroll, Chairman, called the class to order leading song on page 49b. Buddy Ballinger led the morning prayer. Mark Carroll led song on page 83t.

The class organized by selecting the following officers: Vice Chairman—Joe Jones; Secretary—Teresa Ballinger; Arranging Committee—Linton Ballinger and Lomax Ballinger.

Leaders: Lomax Ballinger 565b; Norm Howe 63; Paul Frederick 182; Teresa Ballinger 300; Sam Jones 301; Gary Leopold 159; Rodney Ivey 186; Buddy Ballinger 399b; John Greg 155; Hershell King 72b; Amanda Ballinger 82t; Sarah Harcrow 127; Buckley Hopper 268; Frances Jones 236; Jackie Tanner 270; Cassie Franklin 269; Gravis Ballinger 99; Judy Caudle 174; Gene Wakefield 168; Shelbie Sheppard 528; Bill Shrader 143.


Linton Ballinger called the class together leading song on page 89. Leaders: Loyd Ivey 475; Milton Oliver 314; Charlene Wallace 385b; Donald Jones 100; Jon Giles 250; David Ballinger 111b; Allison Ivey 171; Allen Fannin 373; Teenie Moody 365; Clayton Ezell 480; B.J. Harris 452; Lisa Geist 377; Keith Willard 32t; Linda Sides 35.

Frances Jones gave the memorial. Linton Ballinger and Lomax Ballinger led song on page 283, and David Ivey led song on page 317. Leaders: Steve Shearon 213 (t? b?); Cindy Franklin 123t; B.M. Smith 384; Arvid Holmes 460; Elbert Peters 162; Leola Smith 185; Thomas Willard 274t.


The afternoon session was called together with Chairman Mark Carroll leading song on page 77t. Leaders: Phillip Ballinger 340; Linda Thomas 47t; Jeff Sheppard 142; Susan Harcrow 218; Tim Reynolds 313b; Jenny Willard 564; David Carlton 114; Flora Skinner 358; Stuart Ivey 299; Terry Wootten 240; Karen Ivey 532; Larry Ballinger 78; Norma Latham 34b; Glenda Hopper 343; Verlon Stiefel 348b; Evelyn Harris 87; S.T. Reed 32b; Ruth Brown and Dixie McClurger 84; Jimmy Ballinger 295; Sandra Jordan “We Will Sing With The Angels”; Bud Oliver 73t; B.M. Smith and Margie Smith 448b (for Mel Kersey); J. L. Hopper 188; Mary Florence Smith 91; Earl Ballinger 203; Eloise Avery 39b; Buell Cobb 131b; J.C. Rutledge 401; Glen Harper 40; Marshall Avery 278b; Mattie Townsel and Rodney Ivey 137 (for Virgil Phillips and Ruby Phillips); Syble Adams 147t.

Following the announcements, Chairman Mark Carroll led song on page 146, and the class was dismissed with prayer by J. L. Hopper.

Chairman—Mark Carroll; Vice Chairman—Joe Jones; Secretary—Teresa Ballinger.