Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Old Harmony Primitive Baptist Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

April 19, 1998

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Old Harmony Primitive Baptist Church in Cleburne County, Alabama was held on the third Sunday in April beginning at 9:30 a.m.

The class was called to order by B. J. Harris leading song on page 32t. The morning prayer was led by Elder Neal Prichard. B.J. Harris led song on page 303; Elder Neal Prichard 139, 204, 566; Evelyn Harris 30t and 87.

The class was organized and voted to retain the same officers: Chairman—B. J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Elder Neal Prichard; Secretary—Evelyn Harris; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards; Memorial Committee—Mary Florence Smith.

Leaders: Mary Florence Smith 317b, 37b; Johnny Wright 155, 124; Charlene Wallace 171, 186; Jimmie Denney 143, 68b, 313b; Bobby Jackson 535b, 388; Teenie Moody 523, 100; Don Clark 288, 513; Carlene Griffin 117, 146; Roy Nelson 283, 82t.


Elder Neal Prichard called the class to order leading songs on pages 34t and 104. Leaders: Ruth Daniel 378t, 40; Jeff Sheppard 57, 318, 342; Sherrell Durand 335, 127; Shelbie Sheppard 338, 27; Lovella Campbell 48 (t? b?), 339; Lou Cotney 196, 218.

A memorial was given by Mary Florence Smith for those friends and loved ones who have passed away during the last year. Those remembered were: Kimsey Cagle, Arnold Edwards, Ila McGhee, Clyde Watkins, Hazel Howle, Willie Mae McClendon, and Henry Smith. Lonnie Rogers led songs on pages 294 and 460 for the deceased. Stanley Edwards led song on page 340 in memory of his grandfather, Arnold Edwards.

Johnny Wright led songs on pages 312t and 285t for all the sick and shut-ins. The memorial was closed with prayer by Moena Denney.


The afternoon session resumed with B.J. Harris leading song on page 490. Leaders: Everette Denney 489b, 503; Karen Reeves 457, 106; Lewis Norton 208, 569b; Katherine Benefield 108t, 109; Lonnie Rogers 282, 97; Mildred Patterson 89, 159; Nellie Mae White 312t, 119; Don Clark 448 (t? b?), 480; A.D. Chandler 176b, 137; Ann Scarbrough 45t, 50t; Winford Kerr 358, 112; Lenna Davidson 37 (t? b?), 36b; Teenie Moody 126; Hester Edwards and Gladys McGraw 67, 73b; Lou Cotney 200. Announcements were made. B. J. Harris and Elder Neal Prichard led songs on pages 341 and 69 (t? b?) as the closing songs. The class was dismissed with prayer by Lonnie Rogers.

Chairman—B. J. Harris; Vice Chairman—Elder Neal Prichard; Secretary—Evelyn Harris.