Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Young People’s Singing

Cathedral Church of St. Mark, Salt Lake City, Utah

Saturday, September 28, 2019

The 39th annual Young People’s Sacred Harp Singing Association met at the Cathedral Church of St. Mark, Salt Lake City, Utah, on Saturday before the fifth Sunday in September. The class was called to order by Evelyn Lamb leading 215. Holly Huff offered the opening prayer. A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Evelyn Lamb; Treasurer—J.R. Hardman; Secretary—Sam Thomas.

Leaders: Evelyn Lamb 48t; Sam Thomas 178; Mike Rasmussen 457; J.R. Hardman 63; Pam Carson 117; Wade Kotter 135; Chris Wootton 186; Monica Rasmussen 30b; David McPherson 50t; Abbie Sorg 68b; Erik Mason 56t; Elizabeth Jones 504; Leslie Alperin 271t; Gabriel Kyne 411; Paul Lindholm 419; Sophia Schinske 432.


Kate Coxon brought the class back to order leading 32t. Leaders: Julia Zaffarano 142; Claire Singleton 33b; Mike Chaffin 212; Erin Fulton 93; David Schmitt 49b; Catherine Van Duzer 479; Chris Nicholson 34b; Jenny Jensen 446; Brian McKee 270; Sharon Kermiet 53; Alanna Goodman 506; Judy Van Duzer 35; Nancy Novotny 534; Jerry Schreiber 538; Leah Coffin 181; Ben Copenhaver 140; Kate Coxon 228; Linda Berkemeier 61; Greg Freed 515; Ruth Linehen 42.


Stephanie Fida led 39b to bring the class back together. Leaders: Mark Godfrey 564; Karen Willard 208; Thom Fahrbach 234; Pat Coghlan 214; Bridget Jamison 128; Erik Schwab 475.

Jonathon Smith led 129 for the following sick and shut-ins: Jennifer Jones, Ed Stevens, Norma Ruptier, Curtis Owen, Roni Robbins, Charlene Wallace, Pat Waggoner, Traceylynne Swan, Marilyn Murata, Melanie Hauff, Kylie Power, Chris Holley, and Paul Foster.

Sadhbh O’Flynn led 425 in memory of the following deceased: Ottis Sides, Eleanor Marie Pulsinelle—Alabama; Barbara Willard and Rodney Willard—Arizona; Suzanne Zaffarano—Iowa; Concetta Branson—Oregon; Doc Taylor and Barbara Losse—Utah; Adelaide Vaughn and Mel Rosenbaum—Texas; Michael Appert—Illinois; Walter Howrey and Barbara Lombardo—Missouri; Elaine Zidek—Ohio; Amy Brown—England; Paul Wilson—Minnesota. Mike Rasmussen closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Kate Fortin 58; Fred Wilkey 474; Matt Wells 318; Sonja Launspach and Stephanie Fida 148; Lindy Groening 272; Julius Pasay 383; Leigh Cooper 217.


The afternoon session began with J.R. Hardman leading 37b. Leaders: David Wright 438; Betsy Jeronen 436; Ginny Landgraf 399t; William Schuller 430; Wren Hyde 522; Nathan Rees 276; Carol Huang 312b; Miriam Delirium 313b; Kevin Barrans 203; Marie Brandis 527; Jonathon Smith 428; Stephanie Copenhaver and Ben Copenhaver 338; Kevin Beirne 454; Rosie Sokolov 378b; Linda Selph 382; Bob Schinske 377; E Hopf 59; Sadhbh O’Flynn 423; J.R. Hardman 337; Dave Barber 384; Cornelia Stanton 473; Ben Fink 260.


David Schmitt led 39t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Kate Fine 418; Carla Smith 380; Carolyn Deacy 273; Emily Ross 155; Steve Cackley 560; Tyler Ray 268; Mike Rasmussen 254; Wade Kotter 530; Bonnie Weiss 99; William Schuller, Kevin Beirne, and Miriam Delirium 101t; Chris Nicholson, Jonathon Smith, Nathan Rees, and Bridget Jamison 313t; Stephanie Copenhaver, Ben Copenhaver, Matt Wells, and Ginny Landgraf 547; Ben Fink, Erin Fulton, and Alanna Goodman 545; David Wright, Erik Schwab, Kate Coxon, Bob Schinske, Kate Fortin, Karen Willard, and Kevin Barrans 104; Steve Cackley, Rosie Sokolov, Thom Fahrbach, Julius Pasay, Sadhbh O’Flynn, Betsy Jeronen, Cornelia Stanton, Kate Fine, Nancy Novotny, Ruth Linehan, Linda Berkemeier, Marie Brandis, and Sonja Launspach 472; Carla Smith, Carolyn Deacy, Pat Coghlan, Jerry Schreiber, Mark Godfrey, Leigh Cooper, Dave Barber, Greg Freed, Lindy Groening, Linda Selph, Fred Wilkey, Wren Hyde, Leah Coffin, and Emily Ross 204; Paul Lindholm, Stephanie Fida, Tyler Ray, Brian McKee, Catherine Van Duzer, Judy Van Duzer, Julia Zaffarano, Sharon Kermiet, Erik Mason, Mike Chaffin, David Schmitt, and Gabriel Kyne 344; Sophia Schinske, Logan Thomas, Leslie Alperin, Claire Singleton, David McPherson, and Abbie Sorg 146.

A business meeting was held in order to hear reports from the various committees. The Secretary reported that seventy-seven leaders representing eighteen states led ninety-five songs. The Finance Committee reported that expenses had been met. The Locating Committee reported that no bids had yet been placed for next year’s Young People’s Singing. [In October, the committee announced that the next Young People’s Singing will be held in August, 2020, in Montréal, Canada.] Announcements were made of upcoming singings. The Resolutions Committee thanked everyone who made the day possible. The business meeting was closed.

Evelyn Lamb led 62 as the closing song. Tyler Doherty offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Evelyn Lamb; Treasurer—J.R. Hardman and Janet Siddoway; Secretary—Sam Thomas