Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Morgan County, Alabama

Saturday, July 27, 2019

The 131st session of the Cotaco Convention was held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Nicholas Thompson leading 82t. Elder J.L. Hopper offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Nicholas Thompson 76b; Judy Caudle 101t (for Betty Shepherd); Linda Booth 30t; Nancy Thompson 145b; Glenn Keeton 349; Craig Holmes 39b; Butch White 326; Rebecca Over 234; Bea Aaron 426b; Ron Harper 103; Marlin Beasley 40; Cheyenne Ivey 371 (for Shane Wootten); Daniel Hopper 310; Henry Guthery 140; Susan Allred 270; Nancy Phillips 274b; Theresa Westmoreland 192; Lilly Underwood 47t; Leanne Carter 49b.


Justin Bowen led 345b to bring the class together. Leaders: Reba Windom and Nicholas Thompson 216 (for Betty Shepherd); Sarah Trumbore 458; Lisa Geist 492; Hubert Nall 155; Jim Aaron 448t; Henry Johnson 515; Tom Booth 176b; Delone Cobbs 489; Loretta Whitman 75; Larry Ballinger 425; Ann Jett 319; Mike Hankins 527; Daniel Bearden 42; Jennifer Allred Lee and Brodie Lee 39t; Emily Stutzman 146; Tom George 93; Mark Davis 195; Ainslie Allen 29t; David Ivey 292; Carol Newman 220; Justin Bowen 434; Chris Ballinger 344; Elene Stovall 483; Wanda Capps 217; Richard Ivey 330t. Elder Daniel Hopper asked a blessing at the table.


The afternoon session began with Nicholas Thompson leading 208. Leaders: Joshua Lant 548; Kelsey Ivey 67; Cindy Tanner and Justin Bowen 327; Reba Windom and Shelby Castillo 546; Loyd Ivey 498; Shelby Castillo 456; David Jackson 480; J.L. Hopper 394; Geraldine Sharpton 542; Judy Caudle 329 (for Aunt Verna); Carol Fannin 97; Nicholas Thompson and Lisa Geist 304; Rebecca Over 222; Mark Davis 430; Ron Harper 455; Joshua Lant 447; Tom George and Sarah Trumbore 362; Emily Stutzman 361; Loyd Ivey and Lilly Underwood 512; Leanne Carter 313b; Brodie Lee 277; Ann Jett, Wanda Capps, and Cindy Tanner 269; Everett Ivey, Grace Whitener, and Kelsey Ivey 421; Chris Ballinger, Lisa Geist, and Larry Ballinger 84; Reba Windom, Cheyenne Ivey, and Justin Bowen 30b. Announcements were made.

Nicholas Thompson led 521 as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Nicholas Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle