Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Day Singing

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, June 2, 2019

The annual Liberty Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing was held on the first Sunday in June. The class was called to order by Shane Wootten leading 144. Matt Hinton offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 30b; Cheyenne Ivey 432; Boyd Scott 358; David Saylors and Sierra Saylors 203; Susan Cherones 300; Rodney Ivey 411; Hayden Wootten 42; David Killingsworth 142; Shirley Figura 299; Rex Wilks 480; Kelsey Ivey and Everett Ivey 421; Nate Green and Norma Green 317; Wayne Wootten 64; Ed Thacker 565 (for Margaret); Theresa Saylors 209; Henry Guthery 465; Jamey Wootten 87; Beverly Coates 150; Jackie Tanner 47t; Lilly Underwood and Chandler Boman 426t; Paul Figura 302; Matt Hinton 448t; Sarah Wootten 270; Linda Thomas 72b; Daniel Lee 303 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Larry Ballinger 151; Macy Bell and Karalee Bell 176t.

The class went to the cemetery and sang the following songs in memory of the deceased: Shane Wootten 571 (CB); Loyd Ivey 511b (CB); Kelsey Ivey 518 (CB); Shane Wootten 45t.


Shane Wootten led 74b to bring the class together. Leaders: Marty Wootten 475; Silas Huckaby 298; Derek Buckland 160b; Deborah Taubey 547; Deborah Morton, Garrett Morton, Josh Collier, Betty Shepherd, and Reba Windom 410t, 216; Delone Cobbs, Christopher Mann, Sonya Sipe, and Anna Grace Sipe 36b, 67.

Shane Wootten recognized the veterans in attendance. There was a dozen or so present, four served in World War II (Jack Ivey, Loyd Ivey, Dalton Sharpton, and Glen Fowler). Terry Wootten led 484 (CB).

Leaders: Inga Huebner 369; Earl Ballinger, Linton Ballinger, and Larry Ballinger 186; Bruce Coates 348b; Geraldine Sharpton 84; Mark Carroll 47b; Barrett Patton 546 (for Margaret Thacker and in memory of Flarce Creel); Lori Graber 101b; Ezra Lloyd and Malachi Lloyd 107; Anna Hinton 112. Danny Creel asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with David Ivey leading 333. Leaders: Shane Brown 57; Emma Calvert 63; Blake Sisemore 550; Sarah Huckaby 284; Ainslie Allen 460; Isaac Lloyd 489; Sharon DuPriest 212; Carolyn Thompson 362; Abby Huckaby 99; Loyd Ivey, Marion Biddle, Ivey Thoren, Zoe Thoren, Beau Thoren, Timothy Thoren, Lilly Underwood; Martha Underwood; Halle Sisemore, Lindsey Watkins, Candace Sisemore, and Callie Watkins 424, 503; Tom George 458; Lisa Geist 528; Eddie Mash 413; Alec Williams 88b; Danny Creel 485; Tony Ivey and Earl Ballinger 139.


Shane Wootten led 101t. Leaders: Jamie Dalton and Myra Dalton 86; Phil Summerlin 415; Sarah Trumbore and Shelby Castillo 430; Ben Fink 287; Elyssa Lloyd, Havilah Lloyd, and Jael Lloyd 448b; Nicholas Thompson and Judy Caudle 522; Henry Johnson 375; Elene Stovall and Cassie Allen 500; Cindy Tanner and Wanda Capps 498; Jared Wootten and Aaron Wootten 39t; Reba Windom 434 (in memory of Daphene Causey); Allison Whitener, Karen Ivey, and Richard Ivey 384; Shane Wootten, Wayne Wootten, Marlon Wootten, and Anna Wootten 318 (in memory of Eloise Wootten); Tony Ivey, Scott Ivey, Marty Wootten, Lorie Wootten, Rachel Carter, Sylvia Ivey, Sandy Ivey, Jared Wootten, Chelsea Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Hayden Wootten 89.

Shane Wootten, Loyd Ivey, Linda Patton, and Rex Wilks led 146 as the closing song. Tony Ivey dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Kelsey Ivey; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey